Coconut Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My family enjoyed this a lot. However, I think I am going to tweak it a little bit. Like other contributors, I found that 35-40 minutes was nowhere near enough time. It took a full hour. Therefore next time, I will not pre-bake my pie crust. I also added about another 1/2 cup of coconut. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Growing up in the south I had always had regular coconut pie and my wife being from New York City she wanted me to find her a Coconut Custard Pie recipe. I located this recipe and I was worried because it was her favorite pie growing up. I followed the directions to the T and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this for friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was exactly what I was hoping for! I've grown up with what I think of as the New England version of this pie, and I found this to be a "stupid easy" recipe for this pie. It's not too full of coconut, not too "eggy," the perfect sweetness, and it has a very nice mouthfeel. I was very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Great recipe! Easy to make and very tasty! I followed others' suggestions and added more vanilla and more coconut. The pie came out creamy, thick and absolutely delicious! I used the cream cheese tart dough for the crust and it was fabulous! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
We love this recipe, I made it for the holidays/Xmas Eve and New Year's Eve, it was Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evlin Lebreault
Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This recipe was easy and pretty good. It didn't taste quite like I expected but that might have been my inexperience at making pies! I don't like coconut too much but the husband loved it. The only change I made was to substitute additional evaporated milk for the whipping cream, which I didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Terrible, just terrible... Not like the coconut pie I grew up eating. It was a flop at Thanksgiving... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Excellent taste, texture, and appearance. Very easy to make and always get compliments. I've used this recipe about 4 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
My family loved this recipe - it was so good and very easy. I also added a bit more coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States