Coconut Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used evaporated milk, whipping cream and half and half (3 cups total). A tad more nutmeg, cinnamon and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Very easy and good. Pie did take about an hour to bake. Has anyone tried to substitute coconut milk for the whole milk? Just an idea. I did not use any nutmeg, as I really don't like it and also didn't think it was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Mine is in the oven now so I can't review the results until later. However, if you use more milk and more coconut like some of the reviewers suggest, you'll need another pie shell. I have way too much filling. I poured it in a small bowl and am cooking it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Nice little pie. Being a diabetic, I made some changes to try to lower the carb and fat count. I substituted a low cal sugar blend for whole sugar, used skim milk instead of whole, used a lite version of whipped cream, and used fat free evaporated milk instead of the higher fat regular. The pie came out just fine. My husband loves custards, and he couldn't tell that I made the ingredient alterations and really enjoyed it. These small substitutions allow me to a slice satisfies my sweet tooth! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Marcy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
The only comparison I have is Entenmanns's! but I really didn't like this. It was so eggy or something...... I really love coconut custard. I have to find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I did not alter any ingredients, and this pie is to die for! However ... be patient and wait until it's cold to try it. MUCH better that way! I did use an UNBAKED deep dish pie crust (which it filled nicely) and found that it took more like 45 to 50 minutes to bake. I live at 5,000 feet, so that may have been due to the altitude. I had never made a coconut custard pie before now, and have always loved the Sara Lee version ... but this is SO much better! And EXTREMELY easy. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Much better tasting and general consistency than other pies just using milk. Best recipe I've found on this site for Coconut custard pie. You can always add more coconut if you like, but we found this to be just the right amount. Great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My family enjoyed this a lot. However, I think I am going to tweak it a little bit. Like other contributors, I found that 35-40 minutes was nowhere near enough time. It took a full hour. Therefore next time, I will not pre-bake my pie crust. I also added about another 1/2 cup of coconut. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Growing up in the south I had always had regular coconut pie and my wife being from New York City she wanted me to find her a Coconut Custard Pie recipe. I located this recipe and I was worried because it was her favorite pie growing up. I followed the directions to the T and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this for friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States