Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Very nice "classic" coconut custard pie with a hint of vanilla and nutmeg. For a creamy and rich filling that will fit perfectly into the pie shell, cut the milk to 2 cups (better yet, use 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half or heavy cream. The pie was set after 30 minutes of baking but I left it in the oven for 3 minutes longer to brown a bit more. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This pie was very yummy, lots of coconut. Everyone loved it! I replaced a 1/2 cup of milk with heavy cream, used fresh ground nutmeg, a dash of cinnamon and a homemade pie crust. I also used a little less sugar because my shredded coconut was sweetened. I will definately make this again, it took very little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
When I gave up searching for my grandmother's special "secret recipe," I gave this a whirl. My father thought it was the best pie I have ever made. What a thrill to make a pie that contends with my grandmother's! I even liked it, and I am not a fan of coconut! Delicious! *****Update: Since my father has become a Diabetic, I have been making this pie using regular Splenda (not the baking blend kind) and have still had EXCELLENT results. I also use unsweetened coconut now.*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
The first time I baked this it didn't come out terrific but I decided to try it again and I made my own adjustments. The first time it tasted very eggy so I used 3 eggs this time. I also used 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half, omitting 1/2 cup. It seemed that there was too much filling the first time I made it also. I also used only 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. I added a little bit of cinnamon as well as the nutmeg. It came out great this time. My brother-in-law loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
It is very tasty and has a strong coconut flavor. I used homemade crust, three eggs, half cup of sugar and coconut and slighty less than two cups of milk - it was enough for one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I followed the other reviews' suggestion of using 1 1/2 cups milk. Unfortunatly, this recipe didn't work for me. The coconut and cinnamon rose to the top and I had an egg layer on the bottom. I also got a very soggy crust. Although I think this resulted from putting the pie in the fridge before it completely cooled(Water condensed in the hot pie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This pie was delicious. Not overly "eggy" just a nice creamy custard. I used coconut milk in place of the milk called for in the recipe, and I sprinkled more coconut on top when the pie had baked about halfway. Very easy to do. I will be tinkering with this recipe - but it is great as is. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Hi. Made this pie for Easter 2011. Being a baker, I took advice from other reviews: cut liquid to 2c (1c. milk/1c.heavy cream); used 1/2 c. sugar & took closer to 40 min. to bake (cover crust w/ foil if it looks like it's browning too much). I ALSO USED UNSWEETENED COCONUT. I don't like the sweetened stuff. My family (bunch o' bakers) really enjoyed this pie. Creamy, sweet enough & a little bite to the coconut. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
This was REALLY easy. However, i thought this was a little sweet, and there was too much to fill the pie. I had to spill out some, and even then, the pie bubbled over while baking. Good taste, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I was looking for a good recipe for coconut custard pie and, after making this one, will look no further. This was delicious! I tented the pie about halfway through the cooking time to keep the crust from burning. I removed the foil tent after the allotted time and cooked the pie an extra 5 to 7 minutes. Thanks, Susan, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suches, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States