Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Very nice "classic" coconut custard pie with a hint of vanilla and nutmeg. For a creamy and rich filling that will fit perfectly into the pie shell, cut the milk to 2 cups (better yet, use 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half or heavy cream. The pie was set after 30 minutes of baking but I left it in the oven for 3 minutes longer to brown a bit more. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This pie was very yummy, lots of coconut. Everyone loved it! I replaced a 1/2 cup of milk with heavy cream, used fresh ground nutmeg, a dash of cinnamon and a homemade pie crust. I also used a little less sugar because my shredded coconut was sweetened. I will definately make this again, it took very little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
When I gave up searching for my grandmother's special "secret recipe," I gave this a whirl. My father thought it was the best pie I have ever made. What a thrill to make a pie that contends with my grandmother's! I even liked it, and I am not a fan of coconut! Delicious! *****Update: Since my father has become a Diabetic, I have been making this pie using regular Splenda (not the baking blend kind) and have still had EXCELLENT results. I also use unsweetened coconut now.*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
The first time I baked this it didn't come out terrific but I decided to try it again and I made my own adjustments. The first time it tasted very eggy so I used 3 eggs this time. I also used 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half, omitting 1/2 cup. It seemed that there was too much filling the first time I made it also. I also used only 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. I added a little bit of cinnamon as well as the nutmeg. It came out great this time. My brother-in-law loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
It is very tasty and has a strong coconut flavor. I used homemade crust, three eggs, half cup of sugar and coconut and slighty less than two cups of milk - it was enough for one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I followed the other reviews' suggestion of using 1 1/2 cups milk. Unfortunatly, this recipe didn't work for me. The coconut and cinnamon rose to the top and I had an egg layer on the bottom. I also got a very soggy crust. Although I think this resulted from putting the pie in the fridge before it completely cooled(Water condensed in the hot pie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This pie was delicious. Not overly "eggy" just a nice creamy custard. I used coconut milk in place of the milk called for in the recipe, and I sprinkled more coconut on top when the pie had baked about halfway. Very easy to do. I will be tinkering with this recipe - but it is great as is. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Hi. Made this pie for Easter 2011. Being a baker, I took advice from other reviews: cut liquid to 2c (1c. milk/1c.heavy cream); used 1/2 c. sugar & took closer to 40 min. to bake (cover crust w/ foil if it looks like it's browning too much). I ALSO USED UNSWEETENED COCONUT. I don't like the sweetened stuff. My family (bunch o' bakers) really enjoyed this pie. Creamy, sweet enough & a little bite to the coconut. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
This was REALLY easy. However, i thought this was a little sweet, and there was too much to fill the pie. I had to spill out some, and even then, the pie bubbled over while baking. Good taste, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I was looking for a good recipe for coconut custard pie and, after making this one, will look no further. This was delicious! I tented the pie about halfway through the cooking time to keep the crust from burning. I removed the foil tent after the allotted time and cooked the pie an extra 5 to 7 minutes. Thanks, Susan, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suches, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States