Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner exactly as outlined and ended up eating it for breakfast. The best part was the baking time was fast enough that I had another one made by the time company arrived. They never even noticed, but I can say it was the first pie to disappear! Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Really liked this pie! Very easy and yummy results. I did 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1 cup of half & half, both cinnamon and nutmeg. Very creamy texture and set beautifully. Homemade pie crust just made it that much better. I did bake it for 40 - 45 minutes to make sure it set. Will definately make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This coconut custard pie is delish.. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out amazing... My 2 year old son ate two slices back to back.. The recipe made two 9 inch pies, so I did one with the coconut and one without... This recipe is a keeper!! :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovePink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg. It was difficult to tell when the pie was done. I definitely cooked it for more than 30 min (maybe almost 40min). But when it was done, it was delicious! It was a big hit with my dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made two of these pies for an office holiday party (one for dessert, one as my contribution to the gift exchange). In what I feared would be a major screw-up, I did not heat the milk separately, as the recipe directs, but was counseled by my pastry-chef sister that I could proceed nonetheless. They were in the oven about twenty minutes longer (ten minutes at 350, the last ten minutes at 400) than the recipe prescribed, but a knife finally emerged clean). By the way, I also used half-and-half in lieu of the called-for milk, substituted almond extract for half of the called-for vanilla, and reduced the sugar somewhat. Sprinkled pies with a bit of nutmeg, along with a "garnish" of additional coconut before baking. They were fine (at least the one that got eaten at the party was!) Both texture and flavor were perfect. Apparently a very forgiving recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is a good base recipe that gives you a very good pie. I made it this Thanksgiving. Substituted heavy cream for milk. Added 1 extra egg yolk and used the extra egg white to paint the pie crust before baking. Almond extract is a must. I took another reviewer's advice and substituted in 1/4 tsp of almond extract, using only 3/4 tsp of vanilla extract. To temper the eggs, add 2-3 tbsp of hot liquid to eggs gradually and whisking constantly. Then you can just pour the eggs in the saucepan and keep stirring. Added my coconut after the custard was in the shell. Delicious!!! I also made good use of the extra pie filling by baking it for 10 minutes in glass custard cups. You can't beat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I was looking for a good recipe for coconut custard pie and, after making this one, will look no further. This was delicious! I tented the pie about halfway through the cooking time to keep the crust from burning. I removed the foil tent after the allotted time and cooked the pie an extra 5 to 7 minutes. Thanks, Susan, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suches, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Hi. Made this pie for Easter 2011. Being a baker, I took advice from other reviews: cut liquid to 2c (1c. milk/1c.heavy cream); used 1/2 c. sugar & took closer to 40 min. to bake (cover crust w/ foil if it looks like it's browning too much). I ALSO USED UNSWEETENED COCONUT. I don't like the sweetened stuff. My family (bunch o' bakers) really enjoyed this pie. Creamy, sweet enough & a little bite to the coconut. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Just what I was craving. I used a frozen deep dish pie shell and followed the suggestions of reducing the milk to 2 cups and using only 3 eggs. Otherwise, there definitely would have been too much filling to fit in the pie shell. I added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and cinnamon and found that it had a flavor similar to a rice pudding (but with coconut). I reserved a little of the coconut to sprinkle on top about 20 minutes into the baking time, which toasted nicely on top. Flavor and texture were great - a rich custard, not too sweet, plenty of coconut flavor. My pie needed almost 40 minutes of bake time to fully set and I had to cover the crust the last 15 minutes or so to keep it from overbaking. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used 1 1/2 cups of 2% milk, and a 1/2 cup of heavy cream. I also cut the sugar down to 2 cups. Used cinnamon. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States