Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Incredibly easy, quick, and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Well, it took a LOT longer than 40 mins to bake this pie. Try more like 2 and 1/2 hours. It was not as creamy and thick as I would think a coconut custard pie should be. IF I try it again, I will use heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I have another recipe for custard, I may use that and just add the coconut. Also, I wouls use less sugar. Way too sweet. Maybe try 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This pie was way too sweet. This was my first attempt at making a custard pie but it seemed to take longer then the specified time to get the pie to set. Next time I will look for a recipe with less sugar. Maybe I did something wrong since it was my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I found this pie to be most delicious, and I'm not a coconut fan. I used 1 cup of sugar, and maybe next time I might use heavy cream instead of milk to give the custard a bit more body. All my friends are begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
OUTSTANDING! This is the first time I have had someone ask to take home a piece of pie. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I attempted to make this recipe for the first time today and was disappointed with the results. However, I believe it was more of user error. I followed all the steps exactly and the pie looked fine going into the oven. But after 50 minutes and a very brown shell...the pie still had not set. I used 2% milk which I don't know if this recipe was intended for whole milk. I will try this again with whole milk to see if this corrects the problem. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Really way too sweet, but still good. Just be ABSOLUTLY sure you blend the butter & sugar together BEFORE you add the eggs when making this pie.It comes out wit an odd texture if you add everything at the same time. I made that BIG mistake. It tasted fine, but was weird to eat. I'm sure it would've been awsome if I hadn't -- Truely a great recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This pie was wonderful. I got so many rave reviews that I am making it as a pie choice for my daughter's third birthday party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkville, New York, USA
Living In: New York Mills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I felt like I should have eaten it for breakfast it was soooo eggy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
It was great. I just used half of the sugar specified on the recipe. I ate the whole pie by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States