Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I absolutely loved this pie. My family loved this pie however I did alter the recipe. I used condensed milk I used 3/4 of sugar and Coconut milk and i added nutmeg. It came out so good! I would bake this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anamarii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
OMG...SO GOOD...I too subsitude half and half instead of milk. I used everything else in the recipe. It turned out so good,my family ate it all in one night's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Easiest and yummiest coconut pie! I made this after midnight one night-- the prep took 10 minutes, and it baked for 40. It came out perfectly! It's my dad's favorite so I was really glad to find this recipe. I used unsweetened coconut, and I only used about 3/4 cup of sugar. It was still nicely sweet without being overpowering. I also used condensed milk instead of regular and it was very creamy. Will be making this pie a lot now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Absolutely Delicious!!! I cut the sugar in half and used 3/4 cup of heavy cream instead of milk :-) I could use even less sugar but why? It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This recipe is excellent I halfed the sugar and added 3 tablespoons of flour instead of 2 and I added about 1/2 cup of special dark chocolate chips MMMMMMMMM it is DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonslife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was the best pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Very,very good and easy to make.My wife said that it was the best pie she ever ate.Now I have to go out and buy more coconut.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Perfect coconut custard pie, i used 1 cup sugar 1 and a half was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars after making just a few adjustments, but overall, this is a terrific recipe. I never made coconut custard pie in my life even though it is my favorite, so I had a high standard in my mind of how I hoped it would taste. I read the other reviews and did cut the sugar amount down to a little over 3/4 of a cup and it was definitely sweet enough; do not use sweetened shredded coconut, that would make it too sweet; I had skim milk so added half and half to make it creamier--3/4 c skim and 1/4 c half and half. I also did 1/2 tsp vanilla and added 1/4 tsp coconut rum which I had in my cupboard; baked it 15 minutes and then covered the edges with foil so the edges do not over cook while the custard sets. Make sure you follow the order of the ingredients carefully, the first time I made this I added the butter last and it took its toll on its consistency but it still tasted great. The second time came out perfectly. I am not a baker by any means, so my family and I were thrilled that it came out so good! And my 13 year old daughter helped me make it--and eat it! A perfect pie for a snowy day...or any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAF
Home Town: Old Westbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made this dessert for my husband as coconut custard is his favorite. I used 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup coconut milk. It turned out great! He said it is the best he has had (and he is picky). I also have made this for friends and now they all say that I have to make this pie anytime we get together. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States