Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this pie but I have to admit I only used 1 cup of sugar and I added a few drops of lemon flavoring and it came out delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. WAY TOO MUCH butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I've made this pie many times I get so many compliments. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup because I use sweetened flaked coconut. I also use half and half instead of milk so it's creamier. I sprinkle more coconut on top than the recipe calls for so the coconut flavor is stronger. I also use a deep dish pie crust. It is so easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Really good. Use less sugar and a dash of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is great, however 1 1/2 cups of sugar is way too much. I reduce to 1 cup and sometimes I use evaporated milk or heavy cream - they both come out excellent. I also use a deep dish pie crust, a regular pie crust would produce two pies for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
too sweet too much butter made crust soggy needed more eggs for more custard and a little more flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Gorgeous pie...warm or cold, it's the new family favorite. I decreased the sugar to slightly under a cup, (90% of a cup of sugar). I also added a little more coconut (1/4th of a cup) and it turned out perfect. I've tried several coconut pie recipes and this is the best one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollygagger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I personally did not like this recipe. I took tips from others by reducing the sugar to 3/4cup, using sweet condensed milk and coconut milk instead of regular milk but it was still just too sweet for me. I also feel that it was way to greasy and should have taken someones comment about reducing the butter to 2tbsp. instead of 1/2cup or just not using butter at all. I also feel that it just quite didn't have that authentic custard texture, should've probably used 3 eggs instead of 2. Overall I feel that it is a simple base recipe to have an idea of what is needed for a coconut custard pie. I am going just have to play around with it a bit to get this right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdimartini69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Much too sweet. No one liked it... Had to throw it away. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I'm getting ready to make this for the third time. It's an amazing and easy recipe just the way it is, but if you think it's too sweet, cut back on the sugar a bit. I do need to add that I only used two percent milk instead of whole milk the last time I made it. I couldn't tell a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States