Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe but I agreed with a previous baker. since my coconut was presweetened, I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and the butter to 5 tablespoons. I increased the temp to 400 degrees and since I had cut some of the sugar I baked it in an 8"pie pan instead of a 9"pan. it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Really good! I made this for a get-together and everyone adored it; it was devoured within an hour. I did, however, use slightly less than 1 cup of sugar, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
follow the directions exactly but the pie would not set it was running in the middle don't know what I did wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
First time I made it, it was a little sweet. I adjusted the amount of coconut and it was good. Also a hard time getting it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was a request, I'm not a fan of coconut, but I'm told it is PERFECTION! I read the reviews and reduced the Sugar to 1c and changed the milk to half & half. I also took the advice of others and mixed the ingredients as intended. Then I added tin foil to the crust after 15 minutes. As far as setting? It comes out toothpick clean after 50 minutes but still shifts in the pan, so I let it really set in the fridge overnight. The recipe should really suggest this. It was perfect after that and should be chilled. I just finished mixing another (SO simple & easy) and am licking the bowl myself. It's delicious. Some claimed greasy? I didn't reduce the butter, but I did soften it (leave out or microwave for 10 seconds). I think the greasy taste may be from lumps that settled, then melted when baking. Soften and blend til smooth. This worked for me, not greasy AT ALL, just YUMMY! I'm going to try this custard recipe and use blueberries or raspberries instead of the coconut. I think that will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used coconut milk and it added a nicer element if your really into coconut but the fat in coconut seemed to be to much with 1/2 cup of butter. I'll reduce the butter next time. I think 1/4 cup would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I should have read the comments before I made this. The consistency of the batter was questionable. It did not result in a "custard" at all. More like a very sweet pecan pie. It tastes good but not what I expected. I am taking it to a friends home for dessert and had to cut into it to be sure it was edible. This is NOT the traditional custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Brunelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Way way too sweet and greasy with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Coconut custard pie part 1. I put it in the refigerator over night. When I went to cut the pie it ran like Niagra falls it never thickened. All so the sugar is much to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Disappointing.... Not like custard at all. Tasted like sugar and coconut. Took for ever to set. Top got really dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States