Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Runny and excessively sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Jasudowich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I made this for Christmas and it got rave reviews from even the most picky of eaters. This was a huge success! It was very easy to make and required so few ingredients. It has been asked for again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, I used skim milk with no issues, I added 1 and 1/4 cups of coconut to the mix. Turn out really good. Super simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Bryson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I feel that it uses too much sugar and not enough eggs. It was too sweet. Also, the consistency is more like that of a pecan pie than a custard. It was not done in 40 or 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Could eat the whole pie at once
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly as stated, came out perfectly. I took it to a party last week and people raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made this recipe and with a few alterations, this pie was excellent! Even before reading the reviews, I thought that the amount of sugar was way too much. I use sweetened flake coconut so using 1 1/2 cups of sugar was not an option for me. I did take one of the reviewers suggestions and used 3 eggs instead of two. Two eggs just didn't seem to be enough to make a custard. I also added 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon and nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. The pie was perfectly sweet and the almond extract brought the flavor up a notch. I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. I love coconut custard pie and I will make this recipe again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe but I agreed with a previous baker. since my coconut was presweetened, I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and the butter to 5 tablespoons. I increased the temp to 400 degrees and since I had cut some of the sugar I baked it in an 8"pie pan instead of a 9"pan. it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Really good! I made this for a get-together and everyone adored it; it was devoured within an hour. I did, however, use slightly less than 1 cup of sugar, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
follow the directions exactly but the pie would not set it was running in the middle don't know what I did wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States