Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used coconut milk and it added a nicer element if your really into coconut but the fat in coconut seemed to be to much with 1/2 cup of butter. I'll reduce the butter next time. I think 1/4 cup would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I should have read the comments before I made this. The consistency of the batter was questionable. It did not result in a "custard" at all. More like a very sweet pecan pie. It tastes good but not what I expected. I am taking it to a friends home for dessert and had to cut into it to be sure it was edible. This is NOT the traditional custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Way way too sweet and greasy with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Coconut custard pie part 1. I put it in the refigerator over night. When I went to cut the pie it ran like Niagra falls it never thickened. All so the sugar is much to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Disappointing.... Not like custard at all. Tasted like sugar and coconut. Took for ever to set. Top got really dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this pie but I have to admit I only used 1 cup of sugar and I added a few drops of lemon flavoring and it came out delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. WAY TOO MUCH butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I've made this pie many times I get so many compliments. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup because I use sweetened flaked coconut. I also use half and half instead of milk so it's creamier. I sprinkle more coconut on top than the recipe calls for so the coconut flavor is stronger. I also use a deep dish pie crust. It is so easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Really good. Use less sugar and a dash of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is great, however 1 1/2 cups of sugar is way too much. I reduce to 1 cup and sometimes I use evaporated milk or heavy cream - they both come out excellent. I also use a deep dish pie crust, a regular pie crust would produce two pies for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States