Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Runny and excessively sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Jasudowich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I made this for Christmas and it got rave reviews from even the most picky of eaters. This was a huge success! It was very easy to make and required so few ingredients. It has been asked for again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, I used skim milk with no issues, I added 1 and 1/4 cups of coconut to the mix. Turn out really good. Super simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Bryson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I feel that it uses too much sugar and not enough eggs. It was too sweet. Also, the consistency is more like that of a pecan pie than a custard. It was not done in 40 or 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Could eat the whole pie at once
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly as stated, came out perfectly. I took it to a party last week and people raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made this recipe and with a few alterations, this pie was excellent! Even before reading the reviews, I thought that the amount of sugar was way too much. I use sweetened flake coconut so using 1 1/2 cups of sugar was not an option for me. I did take one of the reviewers suggestions and used 3 eggs instead of two. Two eggs just didn't seem to be enough to make a custard. I also added 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon and nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. The pie was perfectly sweet and the almond extract brought the flavor up a notch. I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. I love coconut custard pie and I will make this recipe again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe but I agreed with a previous baker. since my coconut was presweetened, I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and the butter to 5 tablespoons. I increased the temp to 400 degrees and since I had cut some of the sugar I baked it in an 8"pie pan instead of a 9"pan. it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Really good! I made this for a get-together and everyone adored it; it was devoured within an hour. I did, however, use slightly less than 1 cup of sugar, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
follow the directions exactly but the pie would not set it was running in the middle don't know what I did wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States