Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Whenever I have tried coconut curries at restaurants I couldn't more than a few spoonfuls without getting a stomach ache. The coconut was too strong for my taste. This recipe has it down perfect. I had several cans of regular coconut milk (took out about 1/2 cup of cream) that I needed to use up. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used red cabbage instead of bok choy. It's what I had. Cook it first as it takes longer. I had cauliflower and broccoli so I added that. I used extra firm tofu I had pressed the water out of and baked slowly in the oven spritzed with Braggs Liquid Aminos. It's better for you than soy sauce and you won't be able to tell the difference. You can find it in the natural section of larger grocery stores. I used red curry paste and also so red chili hot oil paste to bring up the heat. You can add just about any vegetable you want. I also added bean sprouts. Just cook the ones that take the longest to cook first. I served this over rice noodles. Quinoa is another good choice and gives a different option than just rice all the time. I also topped it with extra scallions and chopped peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Based on what I had in the kitchen, I used regular onion, powdered ginger, pepper flakes instead of chili paste, spinach instead of bok choy. One day before, I pressed the tofu block and then froze it to get a decent consistency. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is delicious. I do add a little cornstarch so it could be thick. Great with wild rice. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I think I'll pick up from the Thai restaurant next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was AWESOME!!!! I also coated the tofu in flour and fried for a crunchier texture and used spinach in place of bok choy. The sauce was delish and even better the next day! My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
One of the best things you can put in your mouth. I browned my tofu in a skillet before hand, used cabbage instead of bok choy. Chili paste can be a little hard to find so i used some tobascos, a cayenne, and a bannana pepper from my garden. Perfect with Iced Tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I made this recipe as is and it was indeed really runny. Good flavor, but the consistency was way off. I seared the tofu to firm it up a little more and I cooked the veggies for about 20 mins so that they wouldn't be so crunchy. I would reccommend using regular coconut milk. True, there is more fat, but the fat is necessary to hold the dish together and keep it from becoming soup. Also, for a better flavor, add some lemongrass. Just make sure to cut it finely because it doesn't soften when cooked. The brown sugar seemed superfluous and you can leave it out without any difference in taste. Also, green curry is a lot more complementary than the standard yellow if you're able to get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was awesome! Very flavorful and hearty for a vegetarian dish. I sort of cook by eye, so I may not have followed the recipe exactly, but it turned out great :). I did pre-cook the tofu, as I usually do, and I added unsweetened coconut to top it off. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vail, Arizona, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is very good. I made the tofu separately. I drained it and marinated the cubes with a little soy sauce. Then I threw the cubes in a skillet with some garlic and ginger. I like having the tofu a little crunchy on the outside. I didn't add additional soy sauce other than the 3 tablespoons in the beginning. I also didn't add additional salt and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States