Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I changed all the veggies (only had a bag of frozen zucchini and peas, 1 can diced tomatoes, and 1 carrot). I hate soy sauce in curries and subbed in fish sauce (only ~2 tbsp). I realize this makes it less vegan, but meh. I also doubled my curry powder and put in my Vietnamese chili garlic sauce instead of chili paste. Despite all the changes, this came out really tasty and could definitely point newcomers to curry in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My non-vegetarian husband loves this dish! It's extremely flavorful, with a great blend of seasonings. A definite repeat recipe. **I couldn't find chile paste, so I got red curry paste for a substitute. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This isn't the weirdest AR curry I've made - that honor goes to Keon's Slow Cooker Curry - but as I was putting it together, I still thought, "Seriously?" Coconut milk, yes; curry powder, yes; soy sauce, yes. Any two of the three, absolutely. All three together? Whoa, that's weird. The combination is a little different than anything I've had before - simultaneously both Indian-ish and Thai-ish, as you'd expect, but you know what? It's good. And really easy. And really good for you. I can definitely envision swapping the curry powder for Thai curry paste sometimes, but it's totally good as written. I had to play with the veggies a little; my pepper was mushy, and my store didn't have bok choy. I used half a bag of shredded red cabbage and some celery instead, which worked just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made this last night for my husband and I. He is a curry fanatic, he said it was a very good base for curry, he just wished that it was hotter. SO next time I will add 2 tablespoons of chili paste. The only thing I did differently was I used regular coconut vs light. I don't do "lowfat" things, especially since you can take the can of regular coconut milk, take half of it, mix it with water... wahla!! Light! And you get more bang for your buck! This is a pretty great vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usnwife20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Tantalizing spice buffet for your taste buds. This is pretty yummy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was my second recipe I tried with tofu and really enjoyed it! I didn't have bok choy on hand, so I used another reviewer suggestion of using spinach and only used about 2 cups. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was a very easy, yummy recipe. My whole family loved it, even my picky daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Very good and easy to make- I suggest adding a little extra salt, and red pepper flakes for those that like it spicy!! We ate this with rice, but it's hearty enough to eat without. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Wow, this is delicious! I used super-firm sprouted tofu, which I cubed and pan-fried beforehand to give it a crispy "skin." I set it aside and added it to the dish at the last minute to prevent it from getting soggy. Omitted the mushrooms (boyfriend doesn't like) in favor of extra tofu, and used fresh spinach instead of bok choy because the selection at the supermarket looked a little sad. I could only find regular coconut milk, but I think the extra creaminess was worth the calories! Served with steamed rice, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
FANTASTIC RECIPE...VERY DELICIOUS! I added egg noodles 4 mins before I took off the stove. Def will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States