Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Love this! Good flavor, easy to make. Even my 4 year old, who is in a "spaghetti & watermelon only" phase, ate this, though she did tell me it was a little spicy (I'd cut down on, but not eliminated, the chili). And for the grown-ups in the family, it was a complex enough flavor that it satisfied :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I doubled the sauce and added extra chili. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Hamlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Loved this! I followed most of the directions. However, I drained, diced my tofu, and then placed it on a cookie sheet in a 175 degree oven for 30 minutes. I then browned it in a pan with coconut oil to give it a nice crispiness. I didn't add tofu into mixture until I added the bok choy. I used Curry Paste in place of curry powder. We also love spicy foods, so I added about 1/2 TB sriracha sauce. Served over Jasmine rice and it was delicious. We are not vegetarians but like to eat vegetarian a few times a week. This is a definite keeper recipe that we both loved. You can easily tweak it to your liking. Thank you very much for sharing! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is a foolproof recipe that has great flavor and makes for fantastic leftovers! Don't leave out the bok choy...it adds a lot to this dish. We left out the chile paste and used green or red curry paste instead, and added a bit of chile powder...great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delish! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this and it was delicious. I cut my tofu into little triangles and dry fried it a bit before making the recipe to try to improve the texture a little and it didn't fall apart as bad as it probably would have. I used regular coconut milk instead of light and a pinch of dried basil instead of fresh because its what I had. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly. It was delicious over jasmine rice! Would definitely make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Delicious recipe! Just the right amount of heat and flavor. Make it as written except I browned the tofu in a thin layer of oil over med-high heat prior to adding. So scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe had such high reviews that I was super excited to try it, but this was a fail for me... If you make it I suggest the following (which I didn't do, but wish I had) 1) stir fry the veggies and spices in one pan 2) bring the wet ingredients to a boil in another pan with a little corn starch to thicken the sauce 3) double or triple the ginger and brown sugar 4) use less than half of the soy sauce and leave out the salt. I also wrapped the tofu in paper towels and placed a weight on top of that for 1 hour to firm it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this but i dipped the tofu in egg, cornstarch, sugar and deep fried. I only used 1 bunch of green onion, and chopped it all up fine. Than used 2 heaping teaspoons curry powder instead. Didn't bother dividing the soy sauce. A 1 heaping brown sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar, i like sugar. Didn't have chili paste or tomatoes so i used 1/4 cup tomatoe sauce and 2 teaspoons hot sauce. Don't add hot sauce if your curry is "hot" already, i added the hot sauce to my mild curry powder. Didn't have bok choy so i used mostly the white crunchy part of lettuce. The leavy part you can save for salad, serve on side. Didn't have yellow pepper. Used a couple teaspoons of black pepper instead. Didn't have mushrooms so i used red kidney beans instead. Didn't add any basil. Didn't use any salt. It was extra saucy, first bite seemed spicy but it's so good and full of flavor so i served it over rice, soaked up the extra sauce. NO LEFTOVERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I really don't understand how, but this recipe came out very bland. I didn't make any changes other than searing the tofu and was very surprised at how little it tasted like...well, anything. I guess that is not exactly true, each bite tasted enough like Thai curry at the start to get me excited, then *poof*, flavorless. I'll try one more time, maybe with more curry powder and chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States