Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
excellent and very easy dish. I used dried shitake mushrooms (that I reconstituted in water of course). For the chili paste I wasn't sure if it meant plain old chili paste like Sambal Oelek, or the chili paste that is actually made for curries and comes in a red or green variety? I chose to use the red curry paste and it turned out wonderful. I think next time I might leave out the yellow pepper (didn't seem to go well with the dish) and add frozen peas and bamboo shoots instead. Served it with brown rice (which I over cooked a little....but as a result gave it a paella-like crunch) and was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this two days in a row. Was not a tofu fan til I tried this. AWESOME! I used spinach instead. Hubby and friends loved this. Thanks for the recipe.Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very good! I added a bit more spice, but it was really great as written. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Awesome. My family ate Tofu and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Very good, particularly as a starting place. I've made it a few times and I put it whatever veggies I feel like eating! First time I accidentally bought "coconut creme" which had tons of added sugar, but the hubs liked it this way a lot. I had to add extra curry powder to compensate. Tip - dry roast the curry powder a little (until fragrant) before adding other ingredients, it helps pull out the taste. I agree with others that this is better after a night in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Mason said it, "Tasted like an Indian made it." Just need to add a little cayenne to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I also sauted the tofu and also added some japanese noodles. Apply curry liberally. (yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Out of this world!!! I addedd double the brown sugar to give it a little more sweetmess, other than I followed it to a T and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a great quick and healthy weeknight dinner. Next time I would half the recipe because it makes SOOO much. Also, I over cooked it a little so the vegetables were not as crisp which probably would have made it better. Also, next time I won't add the tomatoes until the end, at the same time as the bok choy. I added a can of bamboo shoots with the water drained and they added a nice variation of texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is actually 4.5 stars. It is such a great curry. The flavors go really well and taste very authentic. I will probably use this as my base curry recipe from now on. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 191-200 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States