Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Good base recipe! Needed to add a tablespoon of yellow curry paste, and then it was tres bon! I wanted to get rid of a bunch of veggies in my fridge so instead I used half of an onion, a few mushrooms, and 3 bell peppers (yellow and red) along with the firm cubed tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats that Burning smell?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was sooo tasty (and nutritious!). I left out the bok choy because the grocery store I went to didn't have any fresh and I wanted to avoid using the canned kind. Besides that, I followed the recipe as is and served it over brown rice! Can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I was excited to make this dish because I love thai food but I thought it was a little ordinary when I first made it. I agree with other reviewers that the leftovers the next day were much better. Although it added more calories, I sauteed the tofu in a bit of peanut oil on both sides until golden brown which really added to the flavor and texture of the dish. Will try again maybe with less ginger - only had powdered...sauce is a great base to experiment with. You can pretty much add any veggies or protein you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber47821

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
loved this recipe! Will go into the make often pile...trying to get the kids to eat spicy food isn't easy but I will perservere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Just a fantastic curry recipe! Great flavor and surprisingly healthy, especially if made with light coconut milk. I'm vegetarian and my fiance is very much not vegetarian, and both of us enjoyed it equally. Bonus- it's very easy to make. And as a sidenote, some people have complained about the consistency, but curries like this are supposed to be thin. They're intended to be served over rice. Don't expect an American-style thick, creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was the first time I'd ever cooked with Tofu so it may have been me but I thought it was kinda soggy. I even followed suggestions and got the extra firm and tried frying it (although no one said how long so I may not have fried it long enough). The dish did have good flavor though so I'll give it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was delicious. I used a different mix of veggies (what I had on hand - squash, red pepper, shredded carrots). I also ran out of soy sauce so I used half teriyaki. The basil and scallions add a nice touch. I also added about 1 tb. ground flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is excellent. I omitted the mushrooms, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. It is fantastic! Slightly sweet, slightly spicy. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This is fantastic! I dredged the tofu in a little corn starch before adding it, and the sauce was somewhat thicker for it. I used galangal instead of the ginger and a Thai curry paste instead of the powder. I also used Thai basil for the basil. My daughter said it was the most delicious thing I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fast and easy. Veggies are interchangeable, the only thing I would add is lemongrass and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Ramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States