Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by delacassa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very easy and quick to make! The smell of the sauce is delicious and overall it came out very good! I used spinach and green pepper instead of yellow pepper and bok choy. It is also a very light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delacassa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Awesome tofu recipe. I needed something quick for dinner and this was a big hit with my husband. I didn't have any green onion so I used a half of a sweet onion. I used 1 tsp of brown sugar (Splenda) instead of only 1/2 tsp. I only used the 3 tablespoons of soy sauce in step number 2, after letting it boil I didn't feel that it need anymore. I didn't have any bok choy so I used fresh bag of spinach. This will be a weekly dish in our home and I can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was good but it didn't stand out. I wouldn't really make this again unless I changed a lot of it. I did make the recipe exactly as offered so perhaps using some of the recommendations would change it around. The tofu did take on the flavor nicely and I loved all of the different vegetables but there was something about this dish that wasn't too memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebring

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very good! I took the suggestions of some prior reviews and pressed the block of tofu under a cutting board with a dictionary for about an hour, and then I cubed it and fried it in a bit of olive oil. I used 2 tablespoons instead of 2 teaspoons of Sriracha chile sauce. It was VERY hot. I couldn't find bok choy, so I used baby spinach, which was fine. I also didn't have fresh basil or fresh ginger, so I used dried. The ginger was fine, but I wasn't crazy about dried basil and I think fresh would be much better. I served it over brown rice. Overall, the dish was very tasty and quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I loved this sauce, but did leave out the chili paste since I don't like spicy food. I also fried the tofu a bit first to make it firmer, then added the green onion and so forth. I substituted mushrooms with a package of edamame since I don't like mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
As written, this recipe is a little bland for my taste. Overall a great recipe, though; I will make this again with double the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe. My husband who usually enjoys more spice (than less) really liked it. served this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Good base recipe! Needed to add a tablespoon of yellow curry paste, and then it was tres bon! I wanted to get rid of a bunch of veggies in my fridge so instead I used half of an onion, a few mushrooms, and 3 bell peppers (yellow and red) along with the firm cubed tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats that Burning smell?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was sooo tasty (and nutritious!). I left out the bok choy because the grocery store I went to didn't have any fresh and I wanted to avoid using the canned kind. Besides that, I followed the recipe as is and served it over brown rice! Can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I was excited to make this dish because I love thai food but I thought it was a little ordinary when I first made it. I agree with other reviewers that the leftovers the next day were much better. Although it added more calories, I sauteed the tofu in a bit of peanut oil on both sides until golden brown which really added to the flavor and texture of the dish. Will try again maybe with less ginger - only had powdered...sauce is a great base to experiment with. You can pretty much add any veggies or protein you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber47821

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States