Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Wow, this was great! Thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
not a great tofu lover but this made it ok. used fresh spinach instead of bok choy as its hard to find in our area. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nwankwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I often see "add salt (and/or pepper) to taste" on recipes and I get devastated. I understand they're trying to tell us we can adjust the amount of saltiness as we like but if the recipe is absolutely foreign to you, it is very difficult to figure out how much is the right amount because you have no idea how it's supposed to taste like. I always wish they would put the amount so if I like it certain way, I would adjust it from there but I usually like to try the recipe as it's written first. Anyways, this curry was okay at first. It wasn't flavorful as I wished. So I doubled the curry powder and brown sugar then cooked it longer. I think I will also double the chili paste next time. When we had it for dinner, I wasn't very impressed by it but when I had it for lunch next day, the flavor finally came out and tasted much better. I have many vegetarian friends so I will make this again but I'll make sure to make it at least a day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Store bought chili paste was not hot enough, added red pepper flake for extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
sooooooo good! I decreased the amount of soy sauce coz I find it salty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very easy recipe that I will definitely try again. As suggested in other reviews: I will definitely fry the cubed tofu w/minced garlic in olive oil! It will improve the texture/flavor; and, for people who aren't familiar with this type of food, serving w/a good rice is almost a must! At a good Thai restaurant it's served w/lots of liquid and a side bowl of rice to dump in. Eat it up with a spoon! All in all, this is a great recipe I will share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Yummy curry, did use spinach instead of bok choy /would be probably very expensive to use that/, used canned mushrooms, and instead of coconut milk i used shredded coconut with milk. We had it with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I liked it but bf didn't so won't be a do again. Could have used some direction on how to firm up the tofu. I figured it out too little too late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
It probably would be a five, but I had to cut back on the spice so the whole family could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious. Our family is transitioning into a "meatless" lifestyle and this dish has really helped us learn to enjoy tofu. I sauteed the tofu with some chopped up bits of the leftover white parts of the green onion and some fresh minced garlic. This firmed it up nicely and gave it a little more flavor. My husband is not a huge fan of mushrooms but is willing to learn to like them, I have found that whenever I saute them first before adding them to a dish he comments that they are actually good, so I did it for this recipe. He loves this meal, we have had it with rice noodles and brown rice. Both were delicious. We've never eaten bok choy before and love it in here, we would miss it if it were missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States