Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
You can also substitute the coconut oil with butter or margarine, so tasty that way! Just not calorie-wise. Also if you don't have a blender use onion and garlic powder instead of fresh ingredients. I used 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1 tbsp of onion powder. Just whisk vigorously while cooking and it will give a nice thick consistency. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Made this tonight and stayed fairly close to the original recipe. Did not have coriander, so I left it out and threw a bay leaf in to boil.I used an emulsion blender in the pot. My husband who is not a big fan of curry LOVED this and so did I. The amt of crushed red pepper was enough to add a little "heat" but not too much for us. YUMMMM, perfect Fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a wonderful soup! Very hearty and appealing to most palettes. I've made this twice for the Community Dinner where we live. The kids Love it and so did the adults. With it being vegan and gluten free, there's very little not to love. Bravo and thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly the first time and thought it was delicious. The next time I made it, I added a little more garlic and 1/4 tsp. ground ginger. Before serving, I sprinkled with 1 tablespoon toasted pumpkin seeds and topped it with a spoonful of fat free Greek yogurt. If you use the yogurt, it is no longer vegan. I am a vegetarian, not vegan, so this was OK with me. It gives the soup a creamy, silky texture and provides a nice tang. This is definitely a lovely fall soup with a kick from the spices. I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Petruzzelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
very good recepies yammy :) i did it without the pumpkin and still was perfect my husbend was enjoy his dinner. thankyou:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
We made this as written. I don't think we used the appropriate pumpkin variety nor did we strain the lemongrass. As a result, there was a hint of bitterness. I will try this recipe once more with the suggestions above. As a side note, someone else had originally prepared it and shared the recipe - it was magnificent. So it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Simple and mellow soup recipe that will keep you warm on a cold night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Husband and I really liked this recipe! From reviews I was slightly worried to try it because it seemed either people completely altered it and said they liked it or the few that kept it the same either liked it or said it was bland. Boiling the soup it smelled very fragrant. Trying it I can see why some thought it was bland. It just needs some Thai flavor garnishes. For example I made the soup as is, but we garnished with a little chopped fresh basil, lime zest, and a little squeeze of fresh lime juice. It brought out the natural flavors of the soup and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great soup!! I read all the reviews and made some changes of my own. Used a little less than 1/4 cup olive oil to saute the onions and garlic. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Since the chicken broth wasn't low sodium, I omitted the salt. Upped the garlic to 2 cloves, and added in 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1/4 tsp garam masala, and 1/4 tsp pepper. Had a pretty big kick from the red pepper flakes. This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
As always, I can't rate based on exact recipe. We like Thai/eastern food. So this is what I did. 1 TBL yellow curry paste instead of curry powder (I never did like the curry powder) 1 tsp garam Marsala. Curry paste is hot and Marsala has coriander, so I left out those 2 ingredients. I used whole fat coconut milk and didn't think it was too rich as JPMJ commented. It actually wasn't creamy at all. If I would have had Greek Yogurt or Sour Cream, I would have added a dollop to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States