Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
We made this as written. I don't think we used the appropriate pumpkin variety nor did we strain the lemongrass. As a result, there was a hint of bitterness. I will try this recipe once more with the suggestions above. As a side note, someone else had originally prepared it and shared the recipe - it was magnificent. So it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Simple and mellow soup recipe that will keep you warm on a cold night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Husband and I really liked this recipe! From reviews I was slightly worried to try it because it seemed either people completely altered it and said they liked it or the few that kept it the same either liked it or said it was bland. Boiling the soup it smelled very fragrant. Trying it I can see why some thought it was bland. It just needs some Thai flavor garnishes. For example I made the soup as is, but we garnished with a little chopped fresh basil, lime zest, and a little squeeze of fresh lime juice. It brought out the natural flavors of the soup and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great soup!! I read all the reviews and made some changes of my own. Used a little less than 1/4 cup olive oil to saute the onions and garlic. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Since the chicken broth wasn't low sodium, I omitted the salt. Upped the garlic to 2 cloves, and added in 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1/4 tsp garam masala, and 1/4 tsp pepper. Had a pretty big kick from the red pepper flakes. This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
As always, I can't rate based on exact recipe. We like Thai/eastern food. So this is what I did. 1 TBL yellow curry paste instead of curry powder (I never did like the curry powder) 1 tsp garam Marsala. Curry paste is hot and Marsala has coriander, so I left out those 2 ingredients. I used whole fat coconut milk and didn't think it was too rich as JPMJ commented. It actually wasn't creamy at all. If I would have had Greek Yogurt or Sour Cream, I would have added a dollop to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PattyJean
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe...but I did change just a bit. I thought it needed a little more salt and I added turmeric. I also added grilled shrimp to my bowl of soup...phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
No one in my family liked this recipe. Not sure what exactly made it taste so bad. Oh well, on to the next recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Liz
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I have made this soup many times and it is wonderful! I leave out the coriander because I'm not a fan. I've added cooked cauliflower to this, which is wonderful when blended in the soup with an immersion blender to make it thick and creamy. Tonight I'm adding zucchini and a cup of red lentils to make it heartier and add fiber and protein, as well as great texture. I've used almond milk instead of coconut milk when I didn't have any and it was still great. I've also substituted cooked sweet potato for the pumpkin and then blended with an immersion blender, which was also wonderful. There's so much you can do with this recipe, but the base recipe is also wonderful. I've even served it at a Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Made this tonight and achieved "most favored wife" status. ;-) Highly recommended. Made a couple of minor modifications: - Used G. Washington's Golden Seasoning and Broth instead of the broth and - Added a cup or so of frozen spinach just for added nutrition. It made the color kind of funky, but it was delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Some friends and I made this recipe en masse to feed hungry college and graduate students for a community meal. Very high reviews--and vegan and gluten free--two musts for our crowd. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States