Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was really delicious! I couldn't find coconut powder, so I left it out. The lentils took a lot longer to cook than 20 minutes... more like 40. But once it was done, my boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was very delicious. I also did not have any coconut powder, but it was still fantastic. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay L.
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I made this again recently and added a few tablespoons of fresh ginger. It really improved it. Is it lame that I gave my own recipe five stars? Ha ha ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I'm taking off a star because a tablespoon is WAAAY too much salt in this recipe. I had to add another can of coconut milk just to balance out how salty it tasted. I made this with a few modifications as well. I didn't have any coconut oil or powder, but it tasted fine just using coconut milk and vegetable oil (I'm all about keeping the flavor, but I like to keep things thrifty since I'm a college student). I also added a bit of brown sugar into this and used a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes (five tomatoes seemed like a bit too much, plus I like the flavor or canned tomatoes in curries..the flavor seems more concentrated and holds up well to all of the spices used in Indian cooking). I think next time I will add some cayenne pepper to spice this up. Also, if you don't have quinoa ( I couldn't find any) simple white rice works nicely and soaks up all the coconut liquid. It was quite good with these modifications and I didn't break the bank. Also, this is very filling...I could barely finish my first helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Oh my. YUMMY! I did make a couple of changes, but this is wonderful! I added 1 yellow pepper, chopped, and used Garam Masala instead of the invididual spices..about a tsp and a half. And I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of fresh, since my garden is a bit slow this year. I used chicken stock instead of water. This one will be a regular for me. UPDATE: I have made this so many times since I first reviewed...at least twice a month. It was the dish that convinced my carnivorous husband that going veg would be a possibility. For those who mentioned coconut powder, it is available at Asian markets, but if you cannot find, processing shredded coconut (unsweetened!) for a few seconds will give you a good substitute. It's best to me with french lentils as they have a really nice meaty texture, and I like over brown basmati rice, but my hubby likes the quinoa. It's even better left over when the flavors really meld. LOVE this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Yum! Thank you so much for posting! I made this for my boyfriend and he loved it. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This recipes was so disappointing. I made it just as written and it was flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe turned out delicious! I kept the seasonings pretty close to what the recipe called for, being inexperienced in flavor combinations such as this one. I did have to make some changes though: omitting coconut powder altogether (didnt have any), using brown sugar for the molasses (can't even taste it in there) and using canola oil to saute the onion (didn't have coconut oil either). The lentils needed more liquid during cooking, so I added an extra can of coconut milk slowly, as needed while cooking. Oh and I've never used quinoa & couldnt find that either, so I served it over couscous. It turned out to be an excellent vegan dish! To the reviewer who said this turned out flavorless: you must be doing something wrong, because it would be hard for it to be more full of flavor. Yum yum! P.S. The coconut & curry combo reminded me of the "Bang-Bang chicken & shrimp" dish from the Cheesecake Factory... I sort of like this one better because it's not as spicy and I think the flavors come together better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
The lentils and the quinoa did not go well together, since both have a similar texture. Also, I thought this was very tastless. I did not use the coconut powder since I did not have any, but still, I thought this was pretty bad. A big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was really good. After reading reviews I served it over brown rice instead of quinoa. I also don't know what coconut powder is, but i added some unsweetened flaked coconut to it. A little cayenne pepper and more coconut milk made this dish complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States