Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Used stewed tomatoes and olive oil as substitutes. Added tomato sauce to cut down the sweetness of the coconut milk. Hubby loved it and it paired well with the quinoa...a nice change from the standard rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I used canned lentils, so I omitted the water. I added the lentils at the end, when the stew was the thickness I like. I added dark brown sugar instead of molasses. I blended shredded coconut to make it like a powder. Thanks for a great recipe Lindsay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
We loved this! The only ingredient I couldn't find was coconut powder. I made it without the powder and it still tasted great! Even my almost 2yo gobbled it up. I did size the recipe down to six servings and IMO 1 cup of quinoa was still too much. I marked it down for myself that I'd cook 3/4 of a cup to make six servings. This dish is tasty and sweet and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My husband loved this (and he hates the idea of eating vegetables and quinoa). I did make a few minor changes to the recipe: 1. I added some chicken stock to the stew 2. I added about a tablespoon of Indian Masala seasoning 3. I used canned tomatoes (simply because I was out of fresh ones) 4. I used chickpeas instead of lentils (because that's all I had) 5. I added about a tsp of sugar to help offset the bitterness of the tomatoes It was wonderfully delicious. I highly recommend you try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I love this recipe. I can't stop making it. I thought it needed a bit more crunch, so I tired a couple things and found that dry-roasted pistachios add the perfect texture to it. I serve it with bowls of cilantro, pistachios, and shredded coconut on the table so people can sprinkle on however much they want of each. It's a big hit. I also added the extra can of coconut milk, chopped fresh ginger, and a half teaspoon of ground cinnamon in addition to the stick. To give it some heat, add a few dashes of hot chili sauce--my favorite is Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce, the kind with the rooster on it that you might find at a Chinese or Thai restaurant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I love this recipe. And so have all of my friends/family who have tried it. So simple and delicious. I use red quinoa instead of white, for a an extra earthy, nutty dimension to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This dish is absolutely delicious and so quick to prepare. My husband really liked it as well. Thumbs up - this is one to post to my friends for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Incredibly flavorful and easy to prepare. Whole Foods carries the coconut oil, which is actually in a jar and a solid white (not in fact an oil). Couldn't find coconut powder so used shredded coconut aslo from Whole Foods. Took the advice of another reviewer and used Trader Joes can of diced and fire roasted tomatoes w/green chilis. Each and every ingredient stands out and works together in perfect haromony. We LOVED this dish!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was pretty good. The only thing I would do change would be the amount of coriander. Maybe 1 tbs. instead of 2. Maybe the creator meant tsp. It was a little to aromatic for my liking. I also added some frozen chopped spinach and ginger and used a can of chopped tomatoes with green chiles (Trader Joes). It came out quite yummy. I bet it would also be good done with chickpeas instead of lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I couldn't find coconut powder so I omitted and it was delicious. I would add some kosher salt while it's cooking to bring out more flavor. Works great with the quinoa although /you don't need asuch as thus recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States