Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Overall this is pretty good. I did find the tbsp of salt for the quinoa was too way much - probably try cooking w/o any next time. The flavors from the curry should be sufficient without having to season the quinoa. I used regular lentils and it took a lot time to cook - at least 1 hour during which I kept having to add water (lost track of how much water I added - probably 2 or more cups) and constantly stirring to keep it from sticking to the bottom of the pot. I looked up how to cook lentils in general and noted that older lentils will take longer to cook because they have lost more moisture. Mine was sitting around for a while and could be the reason why it took forever to soften. Further acidic ingredients such as wine or tomatoes can lengthen cooking time. Will probably try using canned lentils next time to shorten the cooking time or use a slow cooker and leave it overnight. Another thought is to use a dutch oven and cover the stew which may help cook the lentils faster w/o having to keep adding more liquids....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
It was a bit too nutty tasting served over the quinoa. Perhaps it'll be better over rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great recipe, and an excellent base to work from when you need to use up other veggies. I've included celery, cauliflower, pumpkin, etc. The latest I made without quinoa or lentils, and it is still a hit. Follow as-is (the author's recommended ginger in her review improves the dish), or use it as a template to make your own creation. Thank you Lindsay L!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by revdfw
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Loved this with a few changes. I sauteed the onion and garlic with 3 T minced ginger and then added all the spices to the above before adding the tomatoes. I used: • ½ t cinnamon • 1 tablespoons curry powder • 3 tablespoons coriander seeds, ground • 1 tablespoons ground cumin • 3 tablespoons ground cardamom and then, added last 1 T red curry paste. You might have to add a little oil to this to keep it from burning, but it does give more flavor to the dish. Would have loved to grind all the spices freshly, but Coriander seeds were all the seeds I had on hand. Next time! I used a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes rather than fresh ones which worked well. Finally, I used 1 can of lowfat coconut milk and one can of coconut cream which I had on hand. I would go for 2 cans of lowfat next time because it was a tad bit sweeter than I would have liked. Still used the cinnamon stick and the cup of water, but I also used 3 c of red lentils. Finally, I did add the cilantro at the end. I served it over Basmati rice and sprinkled it with toasted dry cashews. I also serve banana wheels (banana's cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces, skin on) and yogurt. Got rave reviews from my spouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I used medium macaroon coconut - I'm assuming that's what coconut powder is. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I didn't love this. Compared to other curries, I found the flavour flat. It's not that it wasn't flavourful, it just wasn't multi-dimensional. Maybe could be helped by a 'sour' element (ie. lemon juice)? I like the idea of a lentil stew, but would probably alter it quite a bit in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proclaimthename

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
What a disaster!! The lentils took FOREVER to cook and the dish as a whole never came together. I could not tasty the coconut (which I was so excited about) and overall a massive disappointment. I ended up having to throw out the whole lot, which breaks my heart. I don't even consider it worth another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Curry wasn't to my liking but the quinoa was great (had never had quinoa before). I found the curry portion generally lacking in flavor, but then again, I cook a lot of authentic curries. Followed the recipe except that I made my own coconut powder and replaced the molasses with dark sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I really like this recipe, and it's a great vegetarian option that fills you up. I found the flavors to be a little subtle (I like my curries with a kick!), and next time I will be sure to add in some extra red pepper flakes and maybe up the spices a bit. I used fire-roasted diced tomatoes to save time, and I halved the recipe but still used a whole can of lite coconut milk. Yum yum yum. This reheats very well, just make sure to not overcook the lentils otherwise they will turn to a mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I liked this a lot and it gave the kitchen a wonderful smell as it cooked. Needed extra spice - I added red pepper flake and extra curry powder. Increased the lentils to beef it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States