Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is an amazing 5 star lentil recipe! A couple things I did differently from this recipe though. I didn’t have molasses and coconut powder but it still came out great! I had to slightly adjust water and cooking time to ensure complete cooking of the lentils. I added ¼ cup heavy cream because I prefer that saucy consistency. My local commissary doesn’t carry red lentils but green worked out well. Pour this mix on top of rice or quinoa and you will definitely be satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was edible but I think the coriander was just too overpowering. I made it according to the recipe but only used 1 Tbsp of coriander (I was suspicious going in) and didn't have 5 tomatoes so I used 1 fresh and a 28 oz box of chopped tomatoes. Hubby and one daughter ate it with me but the other daughter refused, although she has liked other red lentil recipes. I'll try to finish the leftovers but won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I have to admit, I was not fussy on this recipe when I first tried it. However, the leftovers were amazing! Once the flavours blended together overnight, It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was very good but I did have to add red pepper flakes to give it a bit more zing... Will make again! I didn't have red lentils so I had to use green which did require a lot more liquid and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was amazingly delicious. I altered it only slightly. I didn't have any coconut powder. Instead of just water I dissolved a chicken boullion cube in it for more flavor. From reading some of the other reviews I added a small can of tomato paste. The stew turned out wonderfully delicious and is delicious all on it's own. The quinoa is very bland though in comparison. I might use something completely different next time or figure out what to add to the quinoa to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
The smell while cooking was divine! I was instantly transported into Indian spice heaven! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by periwinklesmile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is a great vegetarian dish! I made only minor changes based on what I had, like using a can of diced tomatoes and omitting the coconut powder. This made a lot, so I set aside portions (stew only) to freeze, making life easier another night! Loved it, tons of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
THIS IS EXCELLENT. Just use half the salt. It actually got my fiance to eat Indian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was pretty tasty. My only subs were shredded coconut instead of powder (I ground it with a mortar and pestle) and green lentils (the store I went to didn't have red). I made it in the morning and let the flavors meld all day. We enjoyed it, but it wasn't until after I served it that I remembered that I had planned to add fresh ginger, pistachios and sriracha. So I guess I'll try adding those next time--and I think there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States