Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was really delicious! I couldn't find coconut powder, so I left it out. The lentils took a lot longer to cook than 20 minutes... more like 40. But once it was done, my boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay L.
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I made this again recently and added a few tablespoons of fresh ginger. It really improved it. Is it lame that I gave my own recipe five stars? Ha ha ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Oh my. YUMMY! I did make a couple of changes, but this is wonderful! I added 1 yellow pepper, chopped, and used Garam Masala instead of the invididual spices..about a tsp and a half. And I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of fresh, since my garden is a bit slow this year. I used chicken stock instead of water. This one will be a regular for me. UPDATE: I have made this so many times since I first reviewed...at least twice a month. It was the dish that convinced my carnivorous husband that going veg would be a possibility. For those who mentioned coconut powder, it is available at Asian markets, but if you cannot find, processing shredded coconut (unsweetened!) for a few seconds will give you a good substitute. It's best to me with french lentils as they have a really nice meaty texture, and I like over brown basmati rice, but my hubby likes the quinoa. It's even better left over when the flavors really meld. LOVE this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was very delicious. I also did not have any coconut powder, but it was still fantastic. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Yum! Thank you so much for posting! I made this for my boyfriend and he loved it. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We love this! My husband and I are not vegitarians - and we LOVE this! The soft curry flavor fills every recess of the mouth with yum! We had no idea what coconut powder was, so we just used unsweetened shredded coconut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe turned out delicious! I kept the seasonings pretty close to what the recipe called for, being inexperienced in flavor combinations such as this one. I did have to make some changes though: omitting coconut powder altogether (didnt have any), using brown sugar for the molasses (can't even taste it in there) and using canola oil to saute the onion (didn't have coconut oil either). The lentils needed more liquid during cooking, so I added an extra can of coconut milk slowly, as needed while cooking. Oh and I've never used quinoa & couldnt find that either, so I served it over couscous. It turned out to be an excellent vegan dish! To the reviewer who said this turned out flavorless: you must be doing something wrong, because it would be hard for it to be more full of flavor. Yum yum! P.S. The coconut & curry combo reminded me of the "Bang-Bang chicken & shrimp" dish from the Cheesecake Factory... I sort of like this one better because it's not as spicy and I think the flavors come together better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I thought this was delicious! I felt good about eating it seeing that all the ingredients are so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great meal. I follow the recipe with a few exceptions. I couldnt find the coconut powder as well, so i used 1.5 tsp of coconut flavoring and about 1/4 a cup of medium shaved coconut shavings I found in the bulk section in whole foods. I also add about 1/2 c more water to the lentils as they were cooking. Lastly, I added 3/4 lbs of shredded chicken. Served over Quinoa. This is a great recipe. Look forward to making it again. I will take the suggestion and add 2 tbl of ginger and add some peppers as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Excellent base recipe. Made it exactly as it said. A bit bland overall, but very tasty, all organic ingredients, everything meshed well between them. Suggest a bit of tamari over the top and a couple of cayenne chili's to heat it up. Lime added to the cilantro makes this dish incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesDeLaSea

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States