Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I love this recipe. I can't stop making it. I thought it needed a bit more crunch, so I tired a couple things and found that dry-roasted pistachios add the perfect texture to it. I serve it with bowls of cilantro, pistachios, and shredded coconut on the table so people can sprinkle on however much they want of each. It's a big hit. I also added the extra can of coconut milk, chopped fresh ginger, and a half teaspoon of ground cinnamon in addition to the stick. To give it some heat, add a few dashes of hot chili sauce--my favorite is Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce, the kind with the rooster on it that you might find at a Chinese or Thai restaurant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I love this recipe. And so have all of my friends/family who have tried it. So simple and delicious. I use red quinoa instead of white, for a an extra earthy, nutty dimension to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This dish is absolutely delicious and so quick to prepare. My husband really liked it as well. Thumbs up - this is one to post to my friends for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Incredibly flavorful and easy to prepare. Whole Foods carries the coconut oil, which is actually in a jar and a solid white (not in fact an oil). Couldn't find coconut powder so used shredded coconut aslo from Whole Foods. Took the advice of another reviewer and used Trader Joes can of diced and fire roasted tomatoes w/green chilis. Each and every ingredient stands out and works together in perfect haromony. We LOVED this dish!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was pretty good. The only thing I would do change would be the amount of coriander. Maybe 1 tbs. instead of 2. Maybe the creator meant tsp. It was a little to aromatic for my liking. I also added some frozen chopped spinach and ginger and used a can of chopped tomatoes with green chiles (Trader Joes). It came out quite yummy. I bet it would also be good done with chickpeas instead of lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I couldn't find coconut powder so I omitted and it was delicious. I would add some kosher salt while it's cooking to bring out more flavor. Works great with the quinoa although /you don't need asuch as thus recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe! We aren't vegetarians but this makes a great winter meal. Even my "meat and potatoes" dad eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Really excellent recipe. I halved it, but then omitted the water and used the whole can of coconut milk. I added some coconut instead of powder and used green onions. I made my quinoa in my rice maker (2 to 1 water:quinoa) with a broth cube, though I will only use half a broth cube in the future. I also used canned tomatoes that had been run through a processor (I don't like chunks) and only one cup (for the halved recipe, but I could have used more, I suppose). I don't know why someone would say this is flavorless. It's not so hard to add more curry! I just eyeball everything anyway, and maybe I added a bit more molasses, which I really think makes it wonderful. Great recipes, and gluten free! **update: I have recently made this again, and my halved version is a pint of tomatoes, no water, and a whole can of coconut milk. For our leftovers, we ran out of rice and so had it in tortillas (curritos, we call them) and that actually might be my preferred way to eat this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Heinos
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Excellent base recipe. Made it exactly as it said. A bit bland overall, but very tasty, all organic ingredients, everything meshed well between them. Suggest a bit of tamari over the top and a couple of cayenne chili's to heat it up. Lime added to the cilantro makes this dish incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesDeLaSea
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great meal. I follow the recipe with a few exceptions. I couldnt find the coconut powder as well, so i used 1.5 tsp of coconut flavoring and about 1/4 a cup of medium shaved coconut shavings I found in the bulk section in whole foods. I also add about 1/2 c more water to the lentils as they were cooking. Lastly, I added 3/4 lbs of shredded chicken. Served over Quinoa. This is a great recipe. Look forward to making it again. I will take the suggestion and add 2 tbl of ginger and add some peppers as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States