Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
really tasty. quite heavy on the curry powder though, so i would start with less next time and add as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Loved this recipe!! Followed for the most part, with these small changes: omitted coconut powder substituted coconut cream for coconut milk substituted veggie broth for water substituted raw honey for molasses added red bell pepper added minced fresh ginger And it turned out incredible!! Thanks for a great recipe. :) I'll definitely be making this one again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was really good and very filling. I did not have coconut oil and just used olive oil. I found that it needed about double the amount of molasses called for to cut the bitter flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe a lot and have added it to our binder of favorites. Thanks for sharing it! We'd love to see more recipes from you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Great recipe, Lindsay! I was making something similar but had not thought to add the molasses- thank you for that! It is better with molasses. I like to throw in even more veggies (never a bad thing) i.e. celery, zucchini, carrots, and whatever else tickles my fancy that day. I agree with your below comment RE: adding ginger. Now I'm looking forward to seeing if you have other recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made some mistakes, but it was still great! I substituted green lentils, then accidentally used the whole bag instead of two cups. I was suspicious that the lentils would not cook in 15 minutes, and they didn't. It took the lentils 40-45 minutes to get tender, and I had to keep adding hot water, diluting the flavors, so then I added more curry and coriander as well. Next time, I will pre-cook, or maybe, even pre-soak the lentils - even though I know you are not supposed to have to pre-soak them. I plan to buy more coconut milk to mix with the batch of lentils I have then freeze some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Love the flavor used regular lentils and it took so incredibly long, like hours for the lentils to soften. ANd I added so much more liquid than the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Instead of lentils I used black beans- instead of fresh I used canned tomatoes- didn't use coconut powder - added carrots and spinach- still turned out really flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was very easy to make. Needs longer cooking time and about 3 times as much water if using regular brown lentils. Because of the amounts of spices it tasted a little bitter and dry. I tried to solve that problem first by adding brown sugar which helped a little. Then lemon juice from half a lemon, better. Finally added most of a jar of tomato paste. That was the winning ingredient. Made it bright and yummy. After dinner we went for an hour long walk. Took a bite of the leftovers and they were way better. The flavors needed time to blend and the sauce thickened. Would be worth making ahead of time. Will definitely make again. Used one can of tomatoes next time may use two! Who knew I had already made this before. I guess I totally forgot. This time I liked it better. Here's what accounts for that: used the red lentils rather than brown, used really high quality curry powder. Topped with toasted unsweetened coconut, cilantro and toasted cashews. Still needed the tomato paste and would be better with lemon (I see I tried that last time). Funny I totally forgot this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was fabulous. I didn't really change anything except omitting the coconut powder (didn't have any) and I used a large can of diced tomatoes. I'm pretty sure you don't need the coconut oil either, olive or canola or whatever you have on hand would probably work. My husband ate his with hot chili sauce and I had mine with fresh lime juice. A little really does go a long way- it's filling! We both loved it. Even cut to half this recipe made quite a bit; I hope it freezes well! Thanks Lindsay, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States