Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Used this a basic guideline working with limited ingredients. Loved it, will be going back to it again! Spicing was simple but delicious. Added chili seeds for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Very yummy recipe! Used 2 cans light coconut milk due to yellow lentils. Used canola oil (didn't have coconut oi) Used split yellow lentils (instead of the red because all I had were split red lentils and they would have turned to paste) and a can of fire roasted tomatoes since I didn't have fresh in the house. Added a dash of cayenne pepper to heat it up a little. Very satisfying, very delicious restaurant quality lentil dish! An inexpensive way to eat ethnic! You can get the powdered coconut at any of the Indian/Pakistani type grocery/specialty stores and its well worth it! Keep these items in your pantry for when you are shut in, or not in the mood to cook a big production meal. I call these my "pantry meals" for when I have not had time to run to the store, at least I always can make a delicious dinner with things I have on hand! DO MAKE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
DEE-LISH-US!! Dare I mention that I used a can of diced tomatoes and instead of the spices I used 3 tbsp of tandoori masala? It was so delicious - my seven year old and 12 year old boys both loved it, and in fact my 12 year old asked for seconds and took a helping in his lunch (which I made with brown rice since we had eaten all of the quinoa for supper). First time any of us had eaten quinoa but I will most definitely make this dish again...and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is really good, I personally loved it. My four kids ages from 3-12 all really liked this and they are really picky. My husband even liked it and he is not a lentil fan. I only used 1 tsp of salt for the quinoa and I used green lentils added 1 c water and cooked for an hour. The lentils were not mushy - just right. I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4babes2luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
this was very yummy. i used about double the tomatoe and let it reduce. it made more of a sauce doing it this way. also i added masala. served over rice then sprinkled with cilantro. my kids dont like veggies so i pured theirs and loved it and gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really good base for a curry dish. Never had cooked with coconut oil, which was amazing. I always add the spices to the cooking veggies. Added carrots, green pepper and chopped jalapeno. Threw in a heaping spoon of tomato paste for flavor and color. VERY TASTY. Lentils vary in cooking time, but realize that they continue to cook in the hot liquid. 30 minutes and then remove as a rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just made this. I started with 1/2 the recommended molasses and put a tone of ginger, I also used red curry past and made it extremly spciy. i cut up the cilantro and mixed in with the quinoa and a touch of olive oil. YUMMMO. Absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is one of my new favorite recipes. I used jasmine rice instead of quinoa and I ground up shredded coconut in the blender because I did not have coconut powder. I also added 1 tsp of garam masala to the spice mix and used 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon rather than the cinnamon stick. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
so yummy! i omitted the coconut powder (didn't have it), and added one pepper, and two carrots. I also cooked the quinoa on 1 1/2 cups water, and 2 cups vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I'm a vegetarian and I liked it, by my omnivorous family asked me to NEVER make it again. They ate the quinoa to be polite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States