Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The lentils took much longer to cook so I had to keep adding more liquid. I didn't add the salt that the recipe called for and substituted vegetable broth for the water (which took more than the one cup to cook the lentils completely). I omitted the cinnamon to maintain a more traditional curry flavor and the cilantro, which my husband doesn't like. Good flavor, just took much longer to cook the lentils. Next time I will use pre-cooked lentils and just add it to the liquid later in the cooking process to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Love this recipe. I used sprouted tri- colored lentils instead and it came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Easy and good. Mine required much longer cooking time but besides that, followed recipe. Can't wait to share with a friend for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Made it. Really liked it! I've never made a dish like this before. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was! I only made half the amount of quinoa that the recipe said and it was plenty. I did not have coconut powder, as many other reviewers stated, and it was good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
YUMMY. Put only 1TBSP curry and 1 TBSP corriender when Miguel is eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is an amazing 5 star lentil recipe! A couple things I did differently from this recipe though. I didn’t have molasses and coconut powder but it still came out great! I had to slightly adjust water and cooking time to ensure complete cooking of the lentils. I added ¼ cup heavy cream because I prefer that saucy consistency. My local commissary doesn’t carry red lentils but green worked out well. Pour this mix on top of rice or quinoa and you will definitely be satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was edible but I think the coriander was just too overpowering. I made it according to the recipe but only used 1 Tbsp of coriander (I was suspicious going in) and didn't have 5 tomatoes so I used 1 fresh and a 28 oz box of chopped tomatoes. Hubby and one daughter ate it with me but the other daughter refused, although she has liked other red lentil recipes. I'll try to finish the leftovers but won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I have to admit, I was not fussy on this recipe when I first tried it. However, the leftovers were amazing! Once the flavours blended together overnight, It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was very good but I did have to add red pepper flakes to give it a bit more zing... Will make again! I didn't have red lentils so I had to use green which did require a lot more liquid and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was amazingly delicious. I altered it only slightly. I didn't have any coconut powder. Instead of just water I dissolved a chicken boullion cube in it for more flavor. From reading some of the other reviews I added a small can of tomato paste. The stew turned out wonderfully delicious and is delicious all on it's own. The quinoa is very bland though in comparison. I might use something completely different next time or figure out what to add to the quinoa to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States