Coconut Curry Chicken and Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
We loved this and could not stop eating it. I made the following changes: Doubled the amount of curry and added 2 t. cumin, salted chicken chunks before adding to pan. While cooking onions and toasting spices, I added chicken stock as the pan got dry. I also added 1 1/2 teaspoons fish sauce and a handful of raisins with the coconut milk -so good. The final 5 minutes I added 1 generous teaspoon of cayenne pepper-perfect! Served it on rice and topped with peanuts and cilantro. Definitely had a THAI twist. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I loved this with the following changes: I cooked the onions with (a lot more than it called for) curry and a pinch of salt in a 50-50 mix of peanut and olive oil. While the chicken was cooking in the resulting liquid, the onions were moved to a small glass dish and mixed with about a cup of shredded coconut flakes (I had no coconut milk). When the chicken was nearly ready to reintroduce the onion mixture, I added about a half cup of Smuckers natural peanut butter, stirred to coat, liquifying the pb and thickening the sauce. I returned the onions to the pan, tossed on a healthy sprinkle of garlic powder, a chunk of cinnamon stick, and a fair bit of cayenne pepper for zip, then added some Progresso chix stock to allow for some simmering activity. As an after thought, I tossed in some frozen peas to break up the monotonous curry color (also cooled it down to eat faster!). It thickened up over the next half hour or so and we ate it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe was very good but I ended up adding a little variety of vegetables! Overall this dish was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serg910

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Loved it just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Was very nice over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The first time I made this recipe I found it to be bland. I added Cumin and cilantro to taste. I reserved some of the fresh cilantro to sprinkle when I plated the dish, Also gave a sprinkle of fresh coconut as well. Used Jasmatti rice and it was delicious. Went from 3 stars to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I was hoping for a new curry recipe. This is very bland and tasteless. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is nice if you're looking for something simple and not overwelming in taste. My boyfriend and I didn't love or hate it, but I probably wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Thanks LisaMB. Quick and Easy! I made no changes and it's simply great. Served it with whole grained rice then again with egg noodles and a green veggie for color. My wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I'm not really a very good cook and even I couldn't screw this one up. :) I think the level of taste really depends on what kind of curry you use, and you could definitely spice it up with spicier curry. But, as is, it made for a great, light, tasty dinner. The sauce was delicious, I felt like I was in a restaurant. Put it over a bed of jasmine rice and you'd have a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSmarmyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States