Coconut Curried Tofu with Green Beans and Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but I had to make a lot of changes. I doubled it, added 2 tablespoons of sugar to the rice and coconut milk, used a tablespoon of butter, sauteed the tofu with the curry powder, and added garlic, ginger paste, salt and a little sugar to the sauce. I also used light coconut milk, steamed the green beans before adding, and added some baby corn. It turned out to be fantastic. I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I really liked this recipe, but agree it needs salt and a little extra curry powder. I added about a tsp of sugar, raisins, and onions too. When I make it again, I will definitely steam the green beans before I add them to the mixture. They take forever to get tender and the sauce nearly disappears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe was great once it was tweaked. I was afraid it would be too bland, so I added 1/4 tsp Madras curry powder (in addition to the regular curry powder), 1/4 tsp cumin and 1/4 tsp salt. I also added an extra 1/4 cup coconut milk for more sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
A fantastic aroma fills the house during cooking and the taste lives up to the reviews. I added a sweet potato and baby corn for some extra color and nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I changed the recipe, but it was a great starting point. I used coconut curry marinated tempe cooked first in olive oil. Then I took that out of the pan and added large cut onion pieces and cooked those for a little while while steaming green beans, chunks of carrot and just 1/8 of a green bell pepper. I used about one cup of coconut milk and more than doubled the curry. I also used about1/4 tsp of garlic powder, 1/4 tsp-1/2 tsp of cumin and a pinch of red chili powder. I let that simmer for a while and served it over rice. YUM, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Very good recipe once it's tweaked. I love coconut and I love spicy food, so I feel I saved the recipe by adding salt, more curry, a little cilantro, and a little cumin to the tofu and beans. I also served it with a touch of coriander chutney on the side. Otherwise, it would have been far too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Looking at the ingredients to this recipe, it looks like it should be a Thai curry rather than an Indian one. I'm going to try this using green curry paste instead of curry powder, and I bet it will be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I cook a lot of curry and this was awful. I did a lot to dress it up, added peas, corn, chili powder, cumin, cashews, salt/pepper, ect. Nothing could make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was very easy to make and really, really delicious. I added some dried basil and garlic salt to the tofu and green beans while they were cooking. Otherwise, no changes were needed - this is an excellent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It sounds so easy and tasty, but the flavor left a lot to be desired. I modified it as other raters suggested with extra coconut milk and curry, but still did not enjoy the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States