Coconut Curried Tofu with Green Beans and Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It sounds so easy and tasty, but the flavor left a lot to be desired. I modified it as other raters suggested with extra coconut milk and curry, but still did not enjoy the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I cook a lot of curry and this was awful. I did a lot to dress it up, added peas, corn, chili powder, cumin, cashews, salt/pepper, ect. Nothing could make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Pretty good. Used chicken instead of tofu. Need to cook raw green beans for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I really liked this recipe, but agree it needs salt and a little extra curry powder. I added about a tsp of sugar, raisins, and onions too. When I make it again, I will definitely steam the green beans before I add them to the mixture. They take forever to get tender and the sauce nearly disappears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Very good! Both my daughter and I enjoyed this dish. I added cilantro to give it a little more zip. The green beans worked well...which surprised me! Next time I will probably play around a little and add some different vegies, maybe some pine nuts or even a few raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe was great once it was tweaked. I was afraid it would be too bland, so I added 1/4 tsp Madras curry powder (in addition to the regular curry powder), 1/4 tsp cumin and 1/4 tsp salt. I also added an extra 1/4 cup coconut milk for more sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
A fantastic aroma fills the house during cooking and the taste lives up to the reviews. I added a sweet potato and baby corn for some extra color and nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Very good recipe once it's tweaked. I love coconut and I love spicy food, so I feel I saved the recipe by adding salt, more curry, a little cilantro, and a little cumin to the tofu and beans. I also served it with a touch of coriander chutney on the side. Otherwise, it would have been far too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was a little too bland for me. Unfortunately, I can't suggest how to improve it since this was the first time I tried making a curry dish... though I've had plenty in restaurants. I wouldn't make this again, but would rather keep looking for a tastier recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Didn't care for this recipe. It ended up being dry and kind of bland, despite adding extra curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States