Coconut Curried Tofu with Green Beans and Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It sounds so easy and tasty, but the flavor left a lot to be desired. I modified it as other raters suggested with extra coconut milk and curry, but still did not enjoy the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I cook a lot of curry and this was awful. I did a lot to dress it up, added peas, corn, chili powder, cumin, cashews, salt/pepper, ect. Nothing could make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Pretty good. Used chicken instead of tofu. Need to cook raw green beans for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I really liked this recipe, but agree it needs salt and a little extra curry powder. I added about a tsp of sugar, raisins, and onions too. When I make it again, I will definitely steam the green beans before I add them to the mixture. They take forever to get tender and the sauce nearly disappears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Very good! Both my daughter and I enjoyed this dish. I added cilantro to give it a little more zip. The green beans worked well...which surprised me! Next time I will probably play around a little and add some different vegies, maybe some pine nuts or even a few raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe was great once it was tweaked. I was afraid it would be too bland, so I added 1/4 tsp Madras curry powder (in addition to the regular curry powder), 1/4 tsp cumin and 1/4 tsp salt. I also added an extra 1/4 cup coconut milk for more sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
A fantastic aroma fills the house during cooking and the taste lives up to the reviews. I added a sweet potato and baby corn for some extra color and nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Very good recipe once it's tweaked. I love coconut and I love spicy food, so I feel I saved the recipe by adding salt, more curry, a little cilantro, and a little cumin to the tofu and beans. I also served it with a touch of coriander chutney on the side. Otherwise, it would have been far too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was a little too bland for me. Unfortunately, I can't suggest how to improve it since this was the first time I tried making a curry dish... though I've had plenty in restaurants. I wouldn't make this again, but would rather keep looking for a tastier recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Didn't care for this recipe. It ended up being dry and kind of bland, despite adding extra curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States