Coconut Curried Tofu with Green Beans and Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Srumptious flavor in this easy recipe! My hubby doesn't usually care for the texture of tofu, but he really liked this because the crunchy green beans masked the tofu texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My only issue with this recipe is that it is far too small for a meal. For my husband, myself, and our toddler to eat I need to triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivanandmarcia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I think this recipe provides a great base and starting point, but i think there needs to be more seasoning. I added a lot more curry, probably about 2 tablespoons total because the tofu absorbs a lot of flavor. I also added a little soy sauce, salt, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I added garlic, salt and much more curry and still this really lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
A great basic recipe that just needs a few changes. Following others suggestions, I added 1 teaspoon of sugar to the coconut rice and the following additional ingredients to the tofu & green beans: 1/4 teaspoon more curry, 1/4 teaspoon cumin, 1/4 teaspon salt, and a dash of garlic powder. I also added more coconut milk to make it saucier. Also, I steamed the green beans for about 2 minutes in the microwave before adding them to the tofu. It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Easy to make, but not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I changed the recipe, but it was a great starting point. I used coconut curry marinated tempe cooked first in olive oil. Then I took that out of the pan and added large cut onion pieces and cooked those for a little while while steaming green beans, chunks of carrot and just 1/8 of a green bell pepper. I used about one cup of coconut milk and more than doubled the curry. I also used about1/4 tsp of garlic powder, 1/4 tsp-1/2 tsp of cumin and a pinch of red chili powder. I let that simmer for a while and served it over rice. YUM, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I liked the simplicity for a curry newb like me. The coconut rice was very good. I did, however, learn that I don't like tofu. Oops. I'll try this again with chicken and more curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but I had to make a lot of changes. I doubled it, added 2 tablespoons of sugar to the rice and coconut milk, used a tablespoon of butter, sauteed the tofu with the curry powder, and added garlic, ginger paste, salt and a little sugar to the sauce. I also used light coconut milk, steamed the green beans before adding, and added some baby corn. It turned out to be fantastic. I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Looking at the ingredients to this recipe, it looks like it should be a Thai curry rather than an Indian one. I'm going to try this using green curry paste instead of curry powder, and I bet it will be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States