Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was delicious! I made it as a crust for an ice cream pie. I put a thin layer of ganache on top of the crust, followed by chocolate ice cream and finished it off with whipped topping. It was like a Mounds bar ice cream pie. Someone told me this was actually the *best* crust they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this with un-sweetened, dried coconut that I reconstituted with warm water. Toyed with the idea of adding splenda but ended up not. It complimented my pineapple pie perfectly. Next time though I will not reconstitute the coconut as my crust did not get as brown and crispy as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I fell in love with this type of pie crust at a little diner in Ohio years ago in a French Silk pie. I melted the butter, and doubled the recipe, as it didn't look like quite enough, but I ended up with a bit too much on the bottom, which made it chewy, like a Mounds bar once it sat in the fridge overnight. Everyone else thought it was nice to have it chewy on the bottom and crispy on the sides, but next time I will make sure to not layer the bottom too thickly, as I like it crispy all over. Really outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I toasted the coconut first and reduced baking time to 9 minutes. I was thinking about adding nuts too for a dark chocolate pudding pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Easy!!! Just made homemade vanilla pudding and whipping cream and had a coconut cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
What a great idea! Made this as the crust for a lemon meringue pie and it was a big hit. Did use 2 cups coconut with 5 tablespoons butter and 3 tablespoons Splenda and then followed the instructions. Thanks, Carol, for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
this crust is simple and tastes amazing!! The only thing I would do is spray the pie plate with cooking spray..mine stuck a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This crust was amazing..especially when paired with the Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie another reader mentioned. That pie, along with this crust put me on a new level with my husband. Next time, I will double the recipe for the crust for a thicker crust. Amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
The crust fell apart on me. When I sliced in to my Thanksgiving pumpkin pie and went to serve the piece, I could not get the crust to stay together. It gets points for taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I'm sorry Carol. I've never rated a recipe so low but I was really looking forward to the final product and was hugely disappointed. I followed the recipe to the letter but was left with overly dark edges and the bottom of the pie was soft and not at all what one would consider a pie crust. Thank you for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States