Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was great! I accidentally purchased grated coconut and it still worked fine. I got unsweetened coconut but added a teaspoon of vanilla. Then I baked it as instructed. I combined it with the really popular Coconut Cream Pie on this site and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I must have done something wrong...there was a lot of coconut, and so the top of the crust got toasted, but the bottom stayed untoasted--causing it to fall apart on me. And it was simply just way too rich. Like I said, it could be very possible that I did something wrong, but it's two ingredients!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is an amazing alternative to wheat-based pie crusts. I mix coconut milk with pudding mix and it makes the most awesome chocolate-coconut pudding pie on the planet. My vegan friends emphatically agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghiggins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Beautiful. You can make it vegan by substituting 3T unrefined coconut oil for the butter - even more intense coconut flavor. I do agree that the author should have specified unsweetened coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
It wasn't quite as crunchy as I remember,from when I made it as a teenager. Maybe coconut was different then-everything else was! I am going to experiment to see what I am missing. The recipe is fine...my memories are just fooling me. Any suggestions? For the pie,not my memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Healthiest alternative to bread, I customized it completely will be posting butter free version. I've used as an alternate to bread and flour for several recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this crust for a gluten-free coconut pie. Even my gluten eating family thought it was better than a shortbread crust. It was so easy. As another reviewer suggested, I put the ingredients in the food processor before pressing into the pie plate and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was delicious! I made it as a crust for an ice cream pie. I put a thin layer of ganache on top of the crust, followed by chocolate ice cream and finished it off with whipped topping. It was like a Mounds bar ice cream pie. Someone told me this was actually the *best* crust they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this with un-sweetened, dried coconut that I reconstituted with warm water. Toyed with the idea of adding splenda but ended up not. It complimented my pineapple pie perfectly. Next time though I will not reconstitute the coconut as my crust did not get as brown and crispy as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I fell in love with this type of pie crust at a little diner in Ohio years ago in a French Silk pie. I melted the butter, and doubled the recipe, as it didn't look like quite enough, but I ended up with a bit too much on the bottom, which made it chewy, like a Mounds bar once it sat in the fridge overnight. Everyone else thought it was nice to have it chewy on the bottom and crispy on the sides, but next time I will make sure to not layer the bottom too thickly, as I like it crispy all over. Really outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States