Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Using a few tweaks suggested by others, this was a crowd pleaser and gets 5 stars! I doubled the coconut extract, reduced sugar to 2 cups and processed the flaked coconut briefly in the food processor. Very flavorful and moist. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Mmmm. I've been looking for a cake recipe w/ a kick - something different than plain ol' cake. The coconut flavor is wonderful. Only used 2 cups sugar & doubled coconut extract. Made a 3-layer 8-inch round cake, tasted great with frosting. Hesitated on giving the 5th star because the cake was hard. I wonder if anyone else had that issue. I wish it was just a bit softer in texture. But the flavor is wonderful & I will def use this recipe again. If I could give it 4 1/2, I would have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
A lot of reviewers said was a tad dry, and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This cake is phenomenal. I did cupcakes and it made about 30-36. Fill the baking cups about 3/4 full of batter and bake for 20 minutes at 350. My favortie cake EVER! I frosted with the special buttercream recipe from this site and instead of using vanilla extract in the frosting I used coconut extract. SO SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I baked this in layers for my mother-in-laws. It was very well received. My brother has now requested it for his wedding cake this week end. This is a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Awesome cake!! It is definately a keeper. I did split the batter and made to bundt cakes. Once I poured half of the batter in the first pan I mixed in 1 cup of chopped almonds and put it in the rest of the batter. The one with the almonds came out a little more moist than the one without. I then brought out half of each cake for my neighbors to try and they were very pleased with both but most of them liked the ones with the almonds. I also cooked the cakes for 1 hr and 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Oh! Sooooo good! Lots of compliments... Very rich, smooth. I iced it with a cream cheese frosting ( I added 1/2 teaspoon of coconut extract to it ) and it was delicious...Thanks for sharing, Monica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I used this recipe for a small cakke in the centre of my cupcake display at my wedding. I iced it with cream cheese icing and placed needle fleted birds in a nest on top. Although the cake took forever to bake despite the small size and it was VERY crusty on the outside, it was delicious and I recieved the highest praises from those that ate up the scraps as I cut the top even. I am now making it for my inlaws for their wedding aniversary as they requested it especially!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINIMARTINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAMEDANI
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was super easy! One bowl! I didn't use any icing so it was a tad dry. But I brushed on some simple syrup with rum extract in it- yum! This would make a wonderful cake layer. The only change I made was reducing the sugar a bit because I was using sweetened coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Moist!Yummy! This is an excellent recipe. I also reduced the sugar by 1/2cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States