Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
So happy to see there is actually a coconut cake recipie without a boxed cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
nice flavor - I cut the sugar (used 2c) as i could not find any unsweetened coconut. in a do-over I might increase that abit. I think this would be super as a shortcake base. I also liked the lime glaze idea - it does need a little punching up with whatever you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAFXGRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was fabulous and moist. I followed the advice of previous reviewers' and only used 2 1/2 cups of sugar and 2 teaspoons of coconut extract, plus I baked it in a Bundt pan. I have made many types of pound cake and as a rule, I bake them in Bundt pans every time. I have found that when baking them in tube pans, I tend to overbake them. I also started checking for doneness after about an hour in the oven and then kept letting it go back to bake five minutes at a time, for a total bake time of about an hour and fifteen minutes. I served it plain and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
very good. not too sweet. added frosting with more coconut extract to give it stronger coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This cake is excellent. I think it's the best pound cake I ever made or even tasted. I don't quite understand those who claim it is dry. I think they may not be much of a pound cake fan, because the texture here is text book accurate! I do reduce the sugar to 2.5 cups and use unsweetended, powdered coconut. I also add a tsp of vanilla to the tsp of coconut extract, as vanilla brings out other flavors beautifully. Have made it a few times already; it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Yum, yum, yum! Moist, fragrant, tender and simply delicious. Freezes well and tastes even better when you pop a slice into the microwave for a few seconds prior to serving. However, I'm taking one star off because I feel it would have been virtually inedible with 3 cups of sugar! 2 cups is just the perfect amount. I used 1 tsp of coconut extract which gave it a beautiful subtle flavour, dessicated coconut instead of the shredded and only 5 eggs (medium size), since I didn't want to risk an eggy taste. I will be making this again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovin vanilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Using a few tweaks suggested by others, this was a crowd pleaser and gets 5 stars! I doubled the coconut extract, reduced sugar to 2 cups and processed the flaked coconut briefly in the food processor. Very flavorful and moist. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Mmmm. I've been looking for a cake recipe w/ a kick - something different than plain ol' cake. The coconut flavor is wonderful. Only used 2 cups sugar & doubled coconut extract. Made a 3-layer 8-inch round cake, tasted great with frosting. Hesitated on giving the 5th star because the cake was hard. I wonder if anyone else had that issue. I wish it was just a bit softer in texture. But the flavor is wonderful & I will def use this recipe again. If I could give it 4 1/2, I would have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
A lot of reviewers said was a tad dry, and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This cake is phenomenal. I did cupcakes and it made about 30-36. Fill the baking cups about 3/4 full of batter and bake for 20 minutes at 350. My favortie cake EVER! I frosted with the special buttercream recipe from this site and instead of using vanilla extract in the frosting I used coconut extract. SO SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States