Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I took the advice of others and cut the sugar to 2 cups. I also doubled the coconut extract to 2 tsp. Also, I made sure to sift the flour to avoid baking a very dense cake. I also left out the coconut flakes, because, although I like the taste of coconut, I don't like the texture. It was good, but I wouldn't call it a "cream cake." It was a crumbly pound cake. I mixed a quick vanilla glaze to serve it with. The cake soaked up the glaze, which made it much more decadent and sweet. If I bake it again, I think I will add the extra cup of sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was a hit for Thanksgiving. I did make the following changes per my Granny's recipe along with other reviewers' comments: 3 sticks of butter vs 2, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, 2 cups of dessicated coconut, cake flour, 1/8 teaspoon of salt. I also made sure that all ingredients were at room temperature prior to mixing. Also, I baked at a temperature of 300 starting in a cool oven (no preheating). This recipe yields enough batter for a bundt pan & a small loaf pan. It was VERY moist & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIG203

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I want to make this cake for a birthday party this weekend, but wanted to try it out with my family first. I did put an extra teaspoon of coconut extract. I used only 2 cups of sugar. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I used 2 teaspoon of baking powder. I baked as directed except for the last 30 minutes. I reduced the heat to 300 since the edges seem to brown too quickly. Let's just say that my husband had his second piece. It was moist and very tasty even without icing! Definitely a keeper! ;) UPDATE: 10/9/2011- I made the cake for the birthday party as planned. Everyone loved it! Oh and I did add about 1/2 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I always make a recipe the way it was entered just to be fair on the review. The cake was very good. Next time I would cut back on the sugar and double the coconut extract. I had to cook it five minutes more in order for my knife to come out clean. It was very moist the first day but the second day it seemed a little dry more like coffee cake. I will make this again, it was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
First off...I am NOT a baker...so that being said...This cake was easy, fabulous, and a crowd winner! I made this for my sons 2 bday cake and made it in three layers...triple the recipe...i read all the comments and took all into consideration. It came out perfect! Moist, no crumbing, and super tasty! I will def. use this all the time as my goto cake and just tweak it when needed! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I did hesitate for some time whether to give this cake 3 or 4 stars as it is quite dry. My partner though, liked it and doesn't mind the dryness and so I have given it 4 stars but I am not really into cake eating as much as I am into making them and like my cakes a little moister. The flavour nonetheless is lovely. I didn't alter the ingredients and and the sweetness was spot on for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Very disapointing. This cake was extremely dry and crumbly. I followed the directions exactly and baked it for the stated amount of time. I believe that the problem may be that it needs another stick of butter. My "go to" cream cheese pound cake calls for the same amount of all ingredients except for butter. I may try it again and add a stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
When other users said this recipe was dense they really meant it! I'm all for a dense cake but not when it feels like you are serving up rock buns. The flavor was good but it was too dense and not at all moist. I used low fat cream cheese because I had it in the house already, perhaps this contributed to its density issues. If I were to do it again, I'd add double the amount of baking soda and 50g of coconut cream for flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was good, not the best pound cake I have tasted. The coconut adds a nice twist. Needed 15 more min as I used a bundt pan. Cut sugar by half a cup, as per other reviews. Kids approved. Maybe I will add crushed pineapple next time and a little vanilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I am not really a coconut person, but this cake is wonderful. Even my husband who really doesn't like coconut said it was great. I did use only 2 cups of sugar and inreased the exract to 1 1/2 tsp. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States