Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This cake is fabulous! I made a 3 tier cake and this one was gone in two seconds and people kept asking for more! I made a cream cheese and pineapple filling for between the layers. Delicious! Wonderful consistency and perfect denseness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My first attempt at a pound cake and quite enjoyed it. I found the reciped quite a lot of batter for a loaf type pan, and made sure I only filled the loaf pan 2/3 full (or you will end up baking for 2 hours and get a hard crust on outsides and barely cooked top middle). I put the leftover batter into muffin cups (4) which only took 20 mins and they provided a few "take home" minis for my guest. I also "dessicated" the shredded coconut from the store in my (cleaned out) coffee grinder. I think that's necessary (food processor if you have one, but my coffee grinder worked great!) if you're going to use 2 cups or it would be awfully "chewy." I used less sugar - about 1 1/2 cups - I think 2 cups would be about right. Served with strawberry frozen yogurt which complemented it very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
What a good coconut cake recipe. It is very rich and full of coconut flavor. The only problem I had was with the baking time. It ended up taking closer to one hour and 40 minutes or so, making me wonder if the temperature is correct (seems a bit low). Or maybe it is just my oven and I need to make some adjustments. At any rate, we really enjoyed this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, but it took me two hours to cook! The crust was so dry, but the inside would not firm up. Although I liked the taste of the inside, the overcooked crust really spoiled this cake. As written its not something I will bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Pumpkyn
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Excellent cake! I did not read previous reviews, wish I had because the cake is VERY sweet...but rich, delicious, and has a great dense texture. Perfect with a cup of coffee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Great pound cake flavor with a wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
For those that read through the reviews, the best advice I can give is to say that a bundt pan is not a 10” tube pan. The fluted sides and narrower bottom of a bundt pan make it smaller in capacity than a standard 10” tube pan. That doesn’t mean you can't use a bundt pan (I did), it just means that you need to adjust your bake time and/or temp or you’re not going to get the same result. This was my first time making a “real” pound cake and it was delicious. My intention was to serve with berries, but it was a bigger hit just served plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This cake is as the other reviews have said moist, it is sumptuous and I have received great reviews , this is a keeper , I find it a bit sweet so I would reduce the amount of sugar the recipe gives , thanks os much for sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Too good! I made a quick cream cheese maple syrum frosting and we loved it!! I halved the recipe and made it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this cake and my family loved it...so much so my step-daughter wants me to make this for her wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States