Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This cake is as the other reviews have said moist, it is sumptuous and I have received great reviews , this is a keeper , I find it a bit sweet so I would reduce the amount of sugar the recipe gives , thanks os much for sharing !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Too good! I made a quick cream cheese maple syrum frosting and we loved it!! I halved the recipe and made it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this cake and my family loved it...so much so my step-daughter wants me to make this for her wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made this for a friend who doesn't like overly sweet desserts so I decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups. I must admit that I didnt' miss the sugar. Other than the cake being a little dry, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I took the advice of others and cut the sugar to 2 cups. I also doubled the coconut extract to 2 tsp. Also, I made sure to sift the flour to avoid baking a very dense cake. I also left out the coconut flakes, because, although I like the taste of coconut, I don't like the texture. It was good, but I wouldn't call it a "cream cake." It was a crumbly pound cake. I mixed a quick vanilla glaze to serve it with. The cake soaked up the glaze, which made it much more decadent and sweet. If I bake it again, I think I will add the extra cup of sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was a hit for Thanksgiving. I did make the following changes per my Granny's recipe along with other reviewers' comments: 3 sticks of butter vs 2, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, 2 cups of dessicated coconut, cake flour, 1/8 teaspoon of salt. I also made sure that all ingredients were at room temperature prior to mixing. Also, I baked at a temperature of 300 starting in a cool oven (no preheating). This recipe yields enough batter for a bundt pan & a small loaf pan. It was VERY moist & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIG203

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I want to make this cake for a birthday party this weekend, but wanted to try it out with my family first. I did put an extra teaspoon of coconut extract. I used only 2 cups of sugar. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I used 2 teaspoon of baking powder. I baked as directed except for the last 30 minutes. I reduced the heat to 300 since the edges seem to brown too quickly. Let's just say that my husband had his second piece. It was moist and very tasty even without icing! Definitely a keeper! ;) UPDATE: 10/9/2011- I made the cake for the birthday party as planned. Everyone loved it! Oh and I did add about 1/2 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I always make a recipe the way it was entered just to be fair on the review. The cake was very good. Next time I would cut back on the sugar and double the coconut extract. I had to cook it five minutes more in order for my knife to come out clean. It was very moist the first day but the second day it seemed a little dry more like coffee cake. I will make this again, it was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
First off...I am NOT a baker...so that being said...This cake was easy, fabulous, and a crowd winner! I made this for my sons 2 bday cake and made it in three layers...triple the recipe...i read all the comments and took all into consideration. It came out perfect! Moist, no crumbing, and super tasty! I will def. use this all the time as my goto cake and just tweak it when needed! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I did hesitate for some time whether to give this cake 3 or 4 stars as it is quite dry. My partner though, liked it and doesn't mind the dryness and so I have given it 4 stars but I am not really into cake eating as much as I am into making them and like my cakes a little moister. The flavour nonetheless is lovely. I didn't alter the ingredients and and the sweetness was spot on for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States