Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Very easy to make! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Perfect! I did tweak the recipe just a bit, based on others' comments. I cut back on the sugar, to about two-and-a-half cups. Also, I used two tsps of coconut extract (although I feared a too-artificial taste). Finally, I sprinkled some of the coconut into the greased (not floured) non-stick bundt pan. This last step seemed to create a more "crispy" topping once the cake came (easily) out of the pan. Cake was great -- very moist, "heavy" in a nice poundcake way, and kept very well for several days. Excellent! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This cake taste so very creamy. Moist and delicious with just a hint of coconut in it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I baked this cake for my husband last evening and it looked beautiful, but it was absolutely the worst cake ever! It had the consistancy of a bisquit and a floury, doughy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was so easy to make and turned out wonderfully. I used a bundt pan and ended up baking it 10 minutes longer than the recipe says. This is an excellent cake to make for a picnic and is delicious served with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This cake is awesome. I've made it twice now and the whole family loved it. Even those averse to eating cake had several helpings! It wasn't too hard and it didn't crumble. I followed other reviews and used the processor to make the coconut flakes more minute, and i also used just two cups of sugar as I'm not a sweet tooth, and two cups was still very sweet, but perfect! Thanks for sharing the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This took a long time to cook. I’d make again, but I’d plan ahead better. I substituted White Chocolate Liquor for Coconut Liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingleside, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
We tried this recipe as an entry for the county fair so we baked several over the course of a week. The texture was wonderful and the taste was very "Sara Lee". One caution I would make. Although we cooked it for the full 1 hr and 20 minutes and it appeared to be done by testing with a skewer, when cooled and cut at the fair there were small pockets which were not fully cooked. So my advice would be to bake it 1 hr and 25 minutes. This is wonderful with fresh strawberries or ice cream. It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe is AWESOME! Thanks. My husband hates coconut but he eats this like it's going out of style. Very moist, sweet but not overly sweet, and it's gone in one sitting! You'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This recipe was a little dry, but tasty. I think I would search for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States