Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Juliet M.
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good recipe. I used it to make a wedding cake for my father in law and it turned out not only tasty, but a solid base for using fondant to cover the cakes. I frosted it with homemade buttercream with additional coconut extract. Got rave reviews and my husband is picky about sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Wonderful cake. I added mini chocolate chips to mine and it turned out amazing. Wonderful coconut flavor. Not at all over powering. We dipped ours into a hot fudge sauce and it was to die for!!! Will make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was very good. Mine was dry. But I had baked pears with sauce on the side. The cake with the pears was so good! I will make again. The pears were a simple baked pear recipe with apple juice, lemon juice, sugar, cinnamon, baked for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I usually don't like cake all that much but I liked this. I prepared this recipe exactly as written. My only complaint was that I thought it was a little dry. Served with icecream though, this would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This cake was DELICIOUS- I tried this the first time I ever made pound cake and it came out moist and yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a fabulous cake! I read some concerns from others about the crust being hard. What I remember about my grandmother's sour cream pound cake was the wonderful crusty outside and the moist, dense inside. This brought back many memories! I would have liked to use dessicated coconut, but couldn't find any right away, so I pulsed the 2 cups of flaked coconut in the food processor until it was medium fine. I did bake it about 5 min more than called for. The only other change I made was when I inverted the cake onto a plate, I poured about 2 tablespoons of rum over the bottom and let that soak in. This is now one of my favorite cakes, and it is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
OUTSTANDING! This is a wonderful recipe! Absolutely delicious! Just a side note...I finished mine off by pouring a hot pineapple rum glaze into the hot cake pan as soon as I removed it from the oven. It was perfect! (you can contact me if you need the glaze recipe) Thanks again for a wonderful recipe and I will be making this again! I also told my cousin who is insane over coconut and forwarded this recipe on to her!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I used only 1 1/2 sticks of butter, decreased sugar by 1 cup, and served it with whipped topping and strawberries. Yum! I love the coconut extract in it. (Also, I pulverized the coconut in my food processor so it wouldn't be big chunks.) It was very good, but it could have been more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My family and I didn't care much for this recipe. I love coconut but this was just way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I baked the cake in a bundt pan, and had to bake it 20 minutes longer than the recipe called for. The texture was nice, but the cake had a thick crust that I didn't care for. I also wished that it would have had a more pronounced coconut flavor. So, I would say that the cake was o.k., but I most likely won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Darlington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States