Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
The cake tasted great, which is why I gave it a high score even though the outside burned before the inside was cooked. I'm not sure how that happened, but I scrapped off the burned stuff and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Made this as a 3 layer b-day cake. Got great reviews and even heard this was the best cake I've made. Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Was excellent, followed the recipe except for vanilla, did not have coconut only reg vanilla so i used it. My entire family loved it. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was an ok cake. I doubled it and put it in two jelly roll pans, plus a 9x9 pan. I cooked it for 45 minutes, which was too long and it came out very dry. The flavor was good though, I just had high expectations. I also paired it with the chocolate coconut cream cheese frosting from this site, and it was way too much coconut and cream cheese flavors together. Next time, I'll frost it with something else and watch the cooking time more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
The only thing that stopped me from giving this 4 stars is the fact that it made the perfect shortcake for my vanilla ice cream and strawberries. I DO think, as another reviewer stated, that it is more of a biscuit/shortcake texture. It is definitely not creamy. I do not suggest using this recipe for a birthday cake. Is very dense....but tastes on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This is an easy and delicious cake! I did add a half teaspoon of rum flavoring as well. Be sure to blend the sugar, butter, eggs and cream cheese thoroughly. I blended mine on high speed for about 4-5 minutes or until it doubled in size. I let mine cool for 10 minutes and it came out of the pan very easily. Very moist and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Delicious! Very coconutty, and very dense. I made jumbo cupcakes (baked for 28 minutes at recipe temp) and they were great. Frosted with "Study Whipped Cream Frosting" from this site, using coconut extract in place of the almond. Followed other reviewers' suggestions for this: used 2 cups sugar, 3 eggs worth of egg substitute. Will definitely make again for all my coconut fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I would have liked to have a little more coconut flavor but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Great easy recipe! After it is sliced toast the pound cake or grill it so that it is warm and serve it with some nonfat yogurt or fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauli Lavochin
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I thought this cake was great! I made it in a bundt pan, plenty of room. It is a pound cake so it is a little heavier than other cakes but that is to be expected. I added 2 tsp. of extract instead of 1 and it was good and I pulsed the coconut in the processor to make the pieces a little smaller. I also made a rum glaze with powdered sugar, milk and rum extract to put over it and that was the finishing touch. Thanks 19connie61 for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States