Coconut Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made this cake for my boss on his birthday because he likes coconut. I picked it because I know some people don't like the texture of coconut and on a traditional coconut cake you put lots of flaked coconut on the outside but this had lots on the inside. I did reduce sugar by 1 cup but made with sweetened coconut flakes. I made in a bundt pan so reduced cooking time by 10 min. and I put the Coconut Cream Cheese icing on top (I reduced sugar in this recipe also because I wanted a thinner, glaze type icing)I brought flaked coconut with me so those that wanted to could put more on top. It was delicious and my boss asked to have another piece. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
hi this is my first time reviewing a recipe. first thing I changed a couple of things but a good base recipe anyway. Used 2 cups of sugar, I thought 3 was a bit much, and added 1/2tsp of salt,1 1/2tsp vanilla and 1 1/2tsp almond didn't have any coconut extract and 1tsp instead of half baking powder. delicious,very moist and great coconut flavor thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kekepooh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
A very yummy and flavorful cake. It's easy to eat more than you should. Weird but the top half was a lot better then the bottom half, maybe due to oven postioning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This is by far the BEST coconut pound cake recipe ever! It absolutely NEVER disappoints. The only change I made is to add about 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract to the batter. Otherwise, it is just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBWALTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I've baked this many times and it never disappoints! I add about 1/2 t. almond extract to the batter and it just adds a hint of sweetness. I baked one last night and between my dad and my boyfriend, it was gone in a couple of hours so I'll have to bake another one tonight for the people coming over for dinner. I always make sure to beat the eggs into the batter one at a time and then beat for about a minute after each one. It's one of the easiest recipes ever and always comes out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I'm a coconut freak! I loved this cake, it was perfect. I did make a half batch in a bread pan and servied with whipped cream and strawberries. I did add a little extra coconut extract but that was just to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This cake is easy to make and it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Without a doubt, the best pound cake I have ever tasted! I am not normally a fan as pound cake is very dry, but this was amazing, even my husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Wonderful Coconut flavor, slightly dry but served with coolwhip mixed with crushed pineapple in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Pretty good. I did not have coconut extract so just used vanilla. It had a good flavor but I wanted more coconut flavor so I will def buy some coconut extract! It took a lot longer than 1 hr 20 minutes, not sure how much longer though b/c I checked it frequently so it didn't overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States