Coconut Cream Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Not sure what went wrong here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving. My youngest son loves coconut cream pie with meringue, but he was impressed with this pie, too. The only deviation that I made from the original recipe was to mix some of the coconut into the custard filling, and then I browned the rest of it before I sprinkled it on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe is phenomenal! Best I have ever tasted. The custard filling is absolutely to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was sooo good!! My daughter proclaimed it the best pie ever! I mixed 1 1/2 cups of the coconut into custard, also the extra egg yolk with the eggs. Also, I made a graham cracker crust. I didn't think I even liked coconut cream pie, but it was so good we are all fighting over the last piece! Thank you so much for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Great recipe, but I made a few changes. I used two egg yolks instead of one egg and one egg yolk. I also used 1/2 tsp of coconut extract and reduced the vanilla to a 1/4 tsp. I also cut out the salt. I cooked the filling like this: In a saucepan, combine the sugar and flour. Add milk in gradually while stirring gently. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture is bubbly. Keep stirring and cook for about 2 more minutes, and then remove from the burner. Stir a small quantity of the hot mixture into the beaten egg yolks, and immediately add egg yolk mixture to the rest of the hot mixture. Cook for 2 more minutes; remember to keep stirring. Remove the mixture from the stove, and add butter, coconut extract and vanilla. Stir until the whole thing has a smooth consistency. Then mix in the beaten egg whites until smooth. Fold in 1 1/4 cups of the shredded coconut. Pour in crust, then top with 1/2 cup of toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
delicious! i only toasted 1/2 cup of the flaked coconut and then put the rest in the filling. my family loved this pie, it was gone within 15 minutes! i will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This would be great if it didn't have eggwhites in the recipe, We made this pie and it turned out great and looks good but we are scared to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Came out perfect. Better than the picture and it didn't last the hour! Plus it was pretty easy to follow and prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I think this was a great recipe- I had never made a cream pie before, but I served it on Christmas Eve and my family loved it! It is definitely not easy to make, but if you follow the instructions carefully, it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States