Coconut Cream Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent. You have to stir and cook a long time but well worth the effort. It is also good and pretty with a meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I'd read other reviews about the pie not setting up properly, so I increased the cornstarch to 1/3 cup. The filling set up beautifully, and was creamy and quite good. I spread a layer of chocolate chips over the bottom of my pie crust while still hot, and then put the coconut filling over that. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I love this recipe. It was exactly what I was looking for. My family also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
not sure yet...i followed the instructions but was short a tad on the sugar so maybe that is what made it not as sweet as i like so next time i'll add a bit more sugar. also, it's not very firm so after refrigerating it for several hours and not being able to cut it without it being mush, i now have it in the freezer. it tastes pretty good but not what i had in mind. i will try making this again..maybe more corn starch...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I made this with 2% milk not too sure if that was the issue or not,was a tasty I will say that I also used coconut extract instead of vanilla which made it better.I had t put it in the freezer to form it so I could cut it.Next time I will put more corn starch in it to see if that helps with the firmness of it. I will try one more time to make this pie. If you want a pudding though it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy in Georgia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was my first shot at home made coconut cream pie. The recipe was easy and the pie was delicious!! I will never buy a frozen pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This pie was very good, but i did cut down on the coconut, I just put half a cup in, one cup was a little to much, but I thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
this is a good recipe! i didn't add butter/margarine but still tasty! it's not overly sweet & the ingredients are all very basic so you can make it anytime you want! very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nowco

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this for my husband, who loves a particular coconut cream pie at a fancy and expensive local restaurant. I made this with a whipped cream topping (using only 1/2 cup of liquid whipping cream). On top of the whipped cream, I sprinkled 1 cup of shaved white chocolate (Callebaut). My husband loved this pie and is asking when I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was my first time making a coconut cream pie. I followed the recipe as it was written and it was FANTASTIC! My family loved it. I am making three more this evening, one for my family and two for a church dinner. I am going to try and add meringue on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States