Coconut Cream Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
re: cookingmama's review on 11/10/03, this recipe IS a cream pie because the ingredients are placed in a precooked shell. While the ingredients may lean towrds that of a custard, the method is what defines it as a cream pie and not custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent. Rich, creamy, not too sweet. I followed it exactly. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will use 1/2 vanilla & 1/2 coconut extract, and toast the coconut for the top. I may consider using a bit more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Verena
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Excellent and super easy pie!! I love this recipe and will add it to my recipe box. I added a half of teaspoon of coconut extract to the filling because I had it on hand and figured, 'why not'!! Make sure not to rush the process and keep stirring the custard the entire time. I used the Stabalized whipped cream recipe from this site for the topping and I would recommend that because you don't want a runny topping. Love it, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe was too eggy and too much vanilla. The texture was not as creamy as I was hoping for. It was slightly gelatinous .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Absalutly loved it!!! I only added a bit more cornstarrch, other than that nothing. Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this for my husband on Valentine's Day and he said it was great. To me that is a 5 star rating. Next time I think I will add more coconut though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Not a coconut fan myself but was asked to make this for friends birthday, he absolutly loved it and requested i make for any occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a pretty good coconut cream pie recipe. I followed the recipe as it was written with the exception of two things: putting toasted coconut on top, and adding a little bit of water to the cornstarch (then thoroughly mixing the cornstarch and water together to prevent lumps from forming). There are a few things that I would change to make this recipe a 5 star recipe: -Use twice as much cornstarch -Use twice as much coconut inside of the pie to give the pie a better coconut flavor. -Cut the Vanilla down to two teaspoons. In my opinion, four teaspoons gave the pie too much vanilla flavor. -Put between one and two cups of toasted coconut on top of the whipped cream. The toasted coconut on the top makes the pie complete. Again, I think that this is a good pie without those changes, but it would be a spectacular pie with those changes. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent. You have to stir and cook a long time but well worth the effort. It is also good and pretty with a meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I'd read other reviews about the pie not setting up properly, so I increased the cornstarch to 1/3 cup. The filling set up beautifully, and was creamy and quite good. I spread a layer of chocolate chips over the bottom of my pie crust while still hot, and then put the coconut filling over that. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States