Coconut Cream Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I thought this turned our really well. I got a tip off a cooking blog on the internet and used the microwave to toast the sweetened coconut at 30 second intervals mixing it around with a fork in between. That turned out really well. I topped the pie with real whipped cream (from a can) and the toasted coconut. The filling has a great taste, but I would like to try the recipe next time with unsweetened coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe many times. I did not change a thing. It is better by far than any pie You would order in a restaurant or buy in a bake shop. I have been asked to bake some for anniversary dinners and many special events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I kicked this recipe up I added 2 tablesoons of Butter added 1 teaspoon Vanilla 2 tablespoons Cornstarch added 1/2 cup more of coconut flakes. This my wifes favorite Pie. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I've had better coconut cream pies. It's still very good and very easy to make. It's a little too rich for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I made this pie for memorial day....it was too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I did make some changes to the recipe. Probably pretty important. First off, I used only One cup of milk and Two thirds cup of heavy cream. Also only used Three yolks. After I finish mixing I added a couple scoops of Cool Whip. No clue how much just tossed a couple tablespoonfuls. Turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Funny how many people thought it was too runny. . . mine was thick and spreadable when poured into the pie crust. I used skim milk for the "milk" and it still turned out rich. I used the rest of my carton of heavy cream and made whipped cream for the top of the pie and sprinkled toasted coconut on top. Definitely not your conventional coconut cream pie but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeeandchocolate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I did, however, make a few changes. I use agave necter for a sweetener, and I used one (19 oz.) can of coconut milk instead of the milk and cream. I used cornstarch instead of flour. I mixed the agave, cornstarch, and coconut milk (which I had heated first) together in a double boiler. after it had heated I added a cup or so of this mixture to the beaten eggs, then added the eggs to the mixture in the double boiler and cooked until thick. After I had added the coconut and vanilla, I beat in a 8oz pkg of cream cheese and then added the toasted coconut on top...it was absolutely the best coconut cream pie I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was my first time making a cream pie. I've now made two of these and my dd req. it for Thanksgiving. I top mine with merangue and bake offf. Very good. But rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SKMFILM
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This pie was fantastic. The texture was perfectly dense and the taste was rich and creamy. I'll be using this recipe to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKMFILM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States