Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I was so disappointed, it was soooo liduidy. I felt like I was eating raw eggs flavored with coconut. Really nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Perfect. For years, I have enjoyed the homemade pies served at Tuck's Cafe, a small diner up in Paynesville, MN. The coconut is my favorite and this lives up to it. It will go straight into the family heirloom cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this pie for my Pregnant Sister-in-law who had been craving coconut cream pie for weeks (I live out of town and was just in town visiting) She LOVED it! very good pie..and when she actually stopped spooning it out of the pie dish long enough to et it cool it set up quite nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I'm not a novice pie maker, and this pie just didnt turn out. It looked beautiful, but the filling just didnt set. I cooked the filling for plenty of time, letting it come to a rolling boil for several minutes, so it's NOT that the cooking time needed to be increased. Not sure what the problem is with this recipe, but I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I have never made a coconut cream pie before. I am diabetic so I substituted Splenda for the sugar in the filling. No one noticed.Turned out very good I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
For the people who ended up with coconut soup. I am thinking it's the milk you used. Some milk just doesn't work like whole milk. I made this and it was very thick cut great, not runny at all. I did make a few changes to it only because I'm a firm believer that you can never have enough coconut. Instead of regular milk I used coconut milk 1 can. then I added about 1 cup of whipping cream. Coconut milk is very thick and so is heavy whipping cream. It set perfectly very firm. I also added about 1/4 teas. of Almond extract along with the vanilla. For the crust I used a recipe I found on Allrecipes called "Walnut Crust" I made one lil change with that recipe too. I added a lil chopped coconut to the crust mixture. Wow is all I can say! Thanks again for sharing. For those of you who didnt have good luck with this recipe setting. TRY COCONUT MILK! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is really easy and good!!! The next time I make it I am going to decrease the coconut to 3/4C. I also used unsweetened coconut. You can find it in your natural food isle at your grocery store. You should soak it in warm water for about 30 minutes first to soften, drain very well. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is amazing, The only issue i had, and it was my fault, is that i slightly scortched the custard... it is still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This recipe turned out great, I didn't change anything. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States