Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I didn't have any milk, so used a can of unsweet coconut milk plus 2 ozs of no fat creamer...came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made 3 of these in one evenig and all 3 turned out perfect!!!! One pie I put coolwip on insted for the people who didn't like meringue and every one loved them. I am so glad I chose this recipe because this was the first time I made coconut cream pies and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely divine! Most of my family is lactose intolerant, so I made this with Lactaid milk and it worked extremely well. It's such a relief to finally find a recipe I can make easily while still customizing to make it lactose-free. The only problem I had was the decision to only make one pie: The fights over the leftovers were quite intense. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This pie was absolutely delicious and easy to make after reading others reviews. I made one different choice in my ingredients. I used a 15 oz can of cream de coconut from the Goya section of the grocery store and one cup of skim milk instead of the two cups of milk. Everything else I did to the word. I tried using the double boiler method but it wasn't heating up quick enough and my hand was killing me from the constant stirring so I abandoned that and just used it directly on the heat. I did follow others directions to allow a longer boiling time and it thicken beautifully! I allowed it to cool for over an hour while we ate dinner and cleaned up before putting on the meringue topping. However it didnt come out like i had hoped but still covered and stuck to the pie. Overall delicious and I am completely saving this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
It was awesome. Set up was just right if you go right with the recipe. I used a lard based pie crust and it was flaky. Definitely a hit in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I 'almost' followed this recipe exactly....only change I made was using 4 eggs instead of 3 to allow for plenty of merangue. I took the advice of other commenters and made sure to give it more than needed cooking/stirring time. It turned out wonderfully and tastes excellent. My sole complaint is that I used/like a deep dish pie and used that pan.....and the amount of filling was really skimpy for the larger pan size. Either increase everything by half or use a regular pie pan, not a deep dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustoffmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe did not work for me. It tasted good but did not set up. Maybe it was the meringue - had trouble getting that to the consistency it needed to be. Although it looked good, the pie actually got more liquidy after putting the meringue topping on. I'm rating it a 4 because the taste was good and it probably was my method. Will try again and come back and adjust rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Beautiful to look at and delicious. It set up perfectly but needs to be kept at a rolling boil for a few minutes both before and after the yolks are added. I had some extra egg whites so I used 5 to make the meringue and this was just enough. Beat the meringue at high speed for 6 minutes or so, adding the sugar 1 tbsp at a time. Thanks, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfect. Set up great and sliced even better. Just like my Mother's. I have made this 4 times and never failed. I even changed out the coconut for a can of drained pineapple tidbits in one of the pies and it was great! I think you could use this recipe to make just about any flavor pie you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott D Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
excellent, better than 5 stars just like grandmas have to make this one for thanksgiving. thank u sooooo much! love this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States