Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe! i cooked it an extra minute both before and after adding the eggs, and used 1/2 coconut milk, 1/2 milk. This will be a regular in my pie rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Slade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I love love love this recipe. It is our families all around favorite. It does have a lot of steps, but it is worth it! I follow the recipe exactly and it works beautifully. Actually, I do add an extra egg white to the meringue but not an extra yolk to the cream part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna L Whitaker
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
OMG this pie is amazing!!!! Turned out so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna L Whitaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I made this pie for my 48th birthday! My birthday is in June, so I wanted something really good, and summery. I made the graham cracker crust, instead of making a flour crust. The only change I made to the recipe, was using fresh coconut milk. I used 1 cup, in place of milk. The pie was absolutely fabulous! The whole family loved it! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I'm sorry, but I was not impressed at all with this pie! I am with those who could not get this pie to set up. It turned out very runny & this comes from someone who has made pies for the better part of 35 years! I know to boil the custard, & for how long. I followed the directions to a "T" as this recipe is written, & ended up with a soupy pie! It doesn't deserve more than 1 star in my honest opinion. It was also too sweet for my taste, but I realize that's just personal preference. Wish I could give it a better rating, but I will not be making another attempt at this one. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I am so grateful that this recipe turned out! I actually LOVED the pie, I only gave it a 4 because of the amount of time it took. I used 1 can of coconut milk as per another reviewers suggestion and topped up with milk for the remainder. I made sure to over boil my milk and then over boil once the egg yolks are in there. It turned out perfectly. I can only assume that for those of you that had runny custard, you just didn't boil it long enough. I just wish it didn't take so long to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I didn't have coconut pudding so I used the vanilla and added coconut oil, maybe 2 Tbs. I also toasted the coconut before adding to the pie mixture. Delish!!!! Definitely keeping this recipe on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is an amazing pie! A few years ago my Aunt told me she wanted me to make her a coconut pie. I got on here and started looking for a recipie and found this one. I made it a few times before hand (she wanted it for christmas). It was the best pie I've ever ate. I am still making it. However I use 1/2 cup of starch, and I seperate my eggs then put the yolks in the fridge allowing the whites to get room temp. before I even began. I also add extra coconut in the filling. oh so yummy!! Thank you for this recipie it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I LOVE coconut cream pie, and this was the best I've ever made. I followed the advice of others and cooked it longer than the recipe says and, voila! It came out perfect. And it is just as magnificent to look at as taste. A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States