Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was good. I used 1 cup coconut milk 1 cup 2% milk. It's not the best coconut cream pie in the world but it does the trick. It didn't make enough filling to fill my pie crust, I did not use meringue. I made whipped cream and topped it with toasted coconut. I will try meringue next time, when I'm having a guest I know enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe! i cooked it an extra minute both before and after adding the eggs, and used 1/2 coconut milk, 1/2 milk. This will be a regular in my pie rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Slade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I love love love this recipe. It is our families all around favorite. It does have a lot of steps, but it is worth it! I follow the recipe exactly and it works beautifully. Actually, I do add an extra egg white to the meringue but not an extra yolk to the cream part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna L Whitaker
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
OMG this pie is amazing!!!! Turned out so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna L Whitaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I made this pie for my 48th birthday! My birthday is in June, so I wanted something really good, and summery. I made the graham cracker crust, instead of making a flour crust. The only change I made to the recipe, was using fresh coconut milk. I used 1 cup, in place of milk. The pie was absolutely fabulous! The whole family loved it! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I'm sorry, but I was not impressed at all with this pie! I am with those who could not get this pie to set up. It turned out very runny & this comes from someone who has made pies for the better part of 35 years! I know to boil the custard, & for how long. I followed the directions to a "T" as this recipe is written, & ended up with a soupy pie! It doesn't deserve more than 1 star in my honest opinion. It was also too sweet for my taste, but I realize that's just personal preference. Wish I could give it a better rating, but I will not be making another attempt at this one. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I am so grateful that this recipe turned out! I actually LOVED the pie, I only gave it a 4 because of the amount of time it took. I used 1 can of coconut milk as per another reviewers suggestion and topped up with milk for the remainder. I made sure to over boil my milk and then over boil once the egg yolks are in there. It turned out perfectly. I can only assume that for those of you that had runny custard, you just didn't boil it long enough. I just wish it didn't take so long to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I didn't have coconut pudding so I used the vanilla and added coconut oil, maybe 2 Tbs. I also toasted the coconut before adding to the pie mixture. Delish!!!! Definitely keeping this recipe on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is an amazing pie! A few years ago my Aunt told me she wanted me to make her a coconut pie. I got on here and started looking for a recipie and found this one. I made it a few times before hand (she wanted it for christmas). It was the best pie I've ever ate. I am still making it. However I use 1/2 cup of starch, and I seperate my eggs then put the yolks in the fridge allowing the whites to get room temp. before I even began. I also add extra coconut in the filling. oh so yummy!! Thank you for this recipie it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States