Coconut Cream Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was my first effort at a coconut cream pie. I took it to an older lady at work who missed her mother's pie and she said it was great. My second effort is in the oven now and my husband is pacing. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was incredible! I made it for my mom's birthday, and ended up having to make 3 more by the end of the week. Huge hit- for one pie, I added an extra bit of cornstarch and then pie cherries, and another I cut the sugar in half and added a chocolate bar. Both turned out wonderful, and everyone loved them :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I made this pie pretty much just as the recipe is (maybe cooked the filling a bit longer than a minute just in case). Only added a bit of coconut extract and toasted coconut to the top for looks. It was spectacular!!! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is a great recipe. Boil the base longer until thick. I thought it was a bit to seat use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I loved this pie (the second time around)!! You must follow the recipe EXACTLY otherwise it will not turn out. I forgot to put the filling back on the burner for the second time-big mistake! Just be sure to bring to a hard boil and follow instructions and you will have a beautiful pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenthecakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I baked this pie exactly but the filling turned out to be like soup. The filling was great tasting, and was perfect before I baked it, but after it was cooled off and we tried it I had to spoon the filling out of my pie pan. I was very disapointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
i baked this pie exactly as it instructs but it turned out more like coconut soup. and where is the cream of tartar in the meringue? i feel as though if i wouldn't have even baked it, it would be fine...if i would've just topped it with whipped cream flavored with some coconut or something. we ate it out of bowls with spoons and the flavor was good, but why didn't it set up? i don't think it was me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baristacat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This pie is just like my Mom made when growing up in NC! My friend loved this pie, I make it almost every holiday and esp. on Father's Day. I used coconut milk and flavoring for extra coconut flavor. Very delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I have made this recipe for two years and it's a hit at parties, work, and holidays. I have added my own twist though. I cut the vanilla extract to 1/2 teaspoon and add a 1/2 teaspoon of coconut extract for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I think this pie tasted wonderful! I love coconut cream pie, and yes this tasted traditional. I agree it was a little runny but I think if you keep it refrigerated long enough it will turn out really nice. My pie looked really good coming out of the oven, but after sitting out for a while got runny. Please keep the pie cold and boil it for longer than the recipe calls(a min. or 2 more) ! Personally my family and I will eat this kind of leftover for breakfast if you would too, in that case you should double the recipe. I would definatly reccomend this to any hungry cooks out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States